We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice indeed !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great room, comfy, clean, great welcome and service. Great value for money through Hotwire. Grounds in the back are great to unwind after a long day, while having a meal or drink on the patio. Peaceful oasis (may be different after Back to school?).

Room Tip: Upper floor, back ("countryside") view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Breakfastfor2:

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing the notes about your stay.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed the ambience of our Great Lawn Even when school is in session, that is a peaceful area.

We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    69
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
101
34
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Perfect for a family wedding held on campus which is why we were there. Rooms are decent size and even though the bathrooms are huge (or updated much) having two sinks is nice. One sink was outside so you had privacy. Service was good and the property is fairly well maintained. Hate to be too picky but the fake flowers in the lobby could go. Had to have the down pillows and comforter removed due to allergies. Their website say down is available upon request but we didn't request it and only noticed after an allergic reaction. Breakfast buffet at $11 is a good value - nothing over the top but decent and good selection. Didn't have any other food except at the reception held there and unfortunately that food wasn't good at all but the service and room where the reception was held was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Jonesgo:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We know these reviews are helpful for other travelers deciding where to stay.

Thanks again,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had an outstanding stay at the Inn at Virginia Tech! The service was great, the room was comfortable, and everything was reasonably priced! The hotel is centrally located on the Virginia campus within walking distance to almost everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Tom:

Thank for the notes regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, CT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Clean and comfortable, at a very good price. Fantastic location if you're visiting Virginia Tech. Staff was super friendly (looks like they employ lots of local students). We loved the breakfast (in the restaurant and room service), but the dinner menu looked a little bit overly fancy and expensive. Great ballroom for catering large events. Almost a 5.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear WiseWoman:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your efforts to share the notes about your stay with other travelers.

We were pleased to read your review of our property and our staff. We do employ many students throughout the year and, like you, our guests appreciate the energy and enthusiasm they bring to their work. It is one of the benefits of being located on campus.

If you are the parent of a new Virginia Tech student, I encourage you to join our Parents Club. There is no cost to join and you will receive numerous benefits and special offers from us.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Inn for student orientation. It's nice but over priced. The location is very convenient if you are there for visiting the college. You used to get perks for staying at the Inn like parking privileges on campus. They no longer offer this perk and breakfast is extra as well. For $209 a night, you would expect to get more value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Gianna:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing the notes about your stay.

I'm sorry that you felt the value relationship was not appropriate for your stay. Our rates vary considerably throughout the year, reflecting the level of demand in our market. Your visit occurred at a time when all the hotels in Blacksburg were filled to capacity. We did eliminate our parking fee last year as many guests did not want or need the campus parking benefit. Daily passes are still available from the university's Visitor Center.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

About a week ago, my wife and I spent four nights at the Va, Tech Inn. In general, we were satisfied with the room and services received. However, we can make some comments that could improve the overall customer satisfaction.

On the day of arrival, we walked into the reception area at around 1:45 PM, and we were told that our room was not ready. This is somewhat surprising for any hotel, since in many instances, 2 PM is the standard check-in time, and perhaps there is room for improvement here. When traveling, many times we can not coordinate flight times and driving times with a more convenient arrival time at a hotel,

As it happens this led us to getting a complimentary room upgrade. Our accommodations were very good, with a large seating area, a comfortable sofa for TV watching, and a very large and comfortable king size bed. My only criticism of the room was that is located just outside the hall area where there is an ice-machine. The noises were somewhat noticeable but not really annoying.

We had breakfast three times at the restaurant, and it was good in general. The fresh fruit and oatmeal were excellent, the selection of bread and pastries was not very large, and it was somewhat annoying that the toasters available could not accommodate very well some of the bread slices. However, we enjoyed the juices and coffee very much.

By far, the best aspect of the Inn is its location, near to campus, and within walking distance to shopping areas. We also enjoyed the use of their computers. Another area where there could be improvement is in their reservation changes policy. In our case we needed to leave earlier than expected and we found that it was necessary to give 24 hours advance notice of changes in order to avoid some penalty charges.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear JoseBenjamin:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We thank you for your business and appreciate your efforts to share your comments.

I'm sorry your check-in was delayed. Unfortunately, when the hotel has very high occupancy, we can't always accommodate early arrivals. Our quoted check-in time is 4:00PM but we try to register early arrivals whenever business levels allow it.

Your suggestions are appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve and dealing with the information we gather from our guests is one of our best methods of doing so.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with other travelers. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent the weekend for a graduation that was held at Burruss Hall. We were able to walk to the Hall from the Inn.
Check-in was quick and our room was spacious. Among the amenities were free Wi-Fi, coffee available near the lobby in the morning, and comfortable beds.
Travel to downtown Blacksburg took less than five minutes. The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear VALoveToTravel:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech for your recent Graduation visit. We thank you for your business and appreciate your comments about your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again when your travels bring you back to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.