We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to events on campus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Convenient to events on campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent the weekend for a graduation that was held at Burruss Hall. We were able to walk to the Hall from the Inn.
Check-in was quick and our room was spacious. Among the amenities were free Wi-Fi, coffee available near the lobby in the morning, and comfortable beds.
Travel to downtown Blacksburg took less than five minutes. The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear VALoveToTravel:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech for your recent Graduation visit. We thank you for your business and appreciate your comments about your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again when your travels bring you back to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    65
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
100
33
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn several times, and it really is one of the nicest hotels in the area. The exterior architecture is beautiful and fits in with the overall Hokie Stone theme of the campus. Rooms with a view of the grassy field and hills in the distance can be quite nice. Rooms are slightly larger than average hotel rooms and they are clean. The best thing about the Inn, however, is the staff. Whether it is the permanent staff or Tech Hospitality and Tourism majors working the front desk, friendly and helpful service is clearly a priority. That's a tremendous plus when you travel a lot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Ken R.:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your notes with fellow travelers.

Your recognition of our staff and their service is greatly appreciated. We're proud of our team and we thank you for noting their efforts.

We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a graduation and though the outside of the hotel is very nice the rooms need some work. The first room we got was dirty and smelled strange so we asked the front desk for a new one and they were very helpful with it. The one big downside is that there were 3 of us in the room and the beds are only doubles, quite smaller than queens. The hotel is expensive and if they're going to charge what they do, then they really need to fix up the rooms and put queen beds in the rooms. Room was very small and there was hair on my unused towel and in my bed sheets. That was gross! I will say the bed was very comfy. The rooms seemed outdated and needed some TLC. I would return but they need to replace the beds to queens!! And lower then price per night!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear LoveLifeAlways7:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your visit for Graduation. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your concerns with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the difficulties you encountered with your initial room assignment and with the Housekeeping issues you mentioned. These problems should not be occurring. Your notes have been shared with our Housekeeping Manager for follow-up and correction. I'm sorry they affected your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your responses. We appreciate the opportunity to review your comments and make improvements.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My son and I were checking out Tech and during our week long trip the Inn was by far the best hotel we stayed at.
The hotel is new, the grounds are spectacular.
Wish we could have stayed longer!
Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Only minus is they don't have a pool. But I think they assume you are a Tech alum and you'll use their athletic facilities

Room Tip: Back side faces the golf course/pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Eric R.:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent campus visit with your son. It was great to read that you enjoyed your visit.

If your son selects Virginia Tech, we encourage you to take advantage of our Parents Club. There is no cost to join and it provides room and restaurant discounts for your future visits.

We hope to see you again on future visits to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here for a conference over two days. Decided to come in a day early! Was meet by staff for assistance when I drove up. Staff was polite, friendly, and helpful. The room was very comfortable. Conference space was excellent and very modern. I had both dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Buffet style but the food was delicious. Enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Glowe02:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit with us and we appreciate your efforts to share these notes with other travelers.

We hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here for a training conference. It's a beautiful facility and everyone is very cordial and professional. It has a fitness center, but no onsite pool. The rooms are nicely furnished and clearly designed for business travelers - my double/double room had an L-shaped desk with both wired and wireless internet connections. But there were a couple of things that I found odd.

First, the ice and vending machines are not in a separate room, but in a 'crook' of the hallway for rooms. If you're a light sleeper, you might want to make sure you're not in the central part of a hallway; people getting drinks at odd hours might disturb you.

Second, the bar/lounge is more of an anteroom for the restaurant; informal to the point that when I arrived late, I couldn't figure out where the lounge started and the restaurant began. A small thing, to be sure, but still . . .

The convenience of the location, if you're attending events at the Inn or Virginia Tech, would more than make up for the room cost. If not . . . . well, just something to consider.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear NonDumbBlond:

Thank you for staying with us at The Inn at Virginia Tech and for taking the time to share your comments about your visit. We appreciate your business and your thoughtful insights about your stay.

We are always looking for ways to improve our services and facilities. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, VA
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We attended a conference at the Skelton Conference Center. It was handy to be able to stay on site with an excellent restaurant. Not much of a gift store, but great service from the large number of staff who went out of their way to direct us to correct locations. Clean room, quiet location.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be very far from conference center. If close location or quiet location are important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear ChefGeorge1,

Thank you for posting the comments about your recent visit to The Inn at Virginia Tech. Many travelers look forward to seeing how others have enjoyed their experience with specific properties.

We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and our restaurant, Preston's. We would love to see you again when you next return to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.