We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teacher Recruitment Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Teacher Recruitment Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed two nights at The Inn at Virginia Tech recently while conducting recruitment interviews with Va. Tech Seniors. A great place to stay. Greeted at the door upon entering, very pleasant staff who readily ask how I was doing each time I met them. Breakfast was outstanding. Everyone was very friendly. As an alum of Tech, I felt very at home. Room was clean and very comfortable. Internet access was easy to access. I would recommend The Inn at Virginia Tech to anyone looking for a high quality stay away from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Richard:

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay during the Career Fair we hosted.

If your travels bring you back to Blacksburg and Virginia Tech, we hope you will stay with us once again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    65
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
98
32
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Everything about this travel experience was exceptional. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Everything about the hotel was well maintained and clean. The location is perfect. Being at the edge of campus makes everything easily accessible. I wouldn't change anything about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear John:

Thank you for the post regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing the comments about your experience.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on future visits to Blacksburg and Virginia Tech.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have stayed at the Inn at Virginia Tech 15 or more times. It is a wonderful hotel.The rooms are very clean and the beds sleep great.The breakfast is one of the best around. It is very close to campus, we walk from the Inn all over campus and also Downtown. I would definity stay at the Inn if I was in Blacksburg.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Carlton:

Thank you for your comments and for your loyal patronage of The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your experience with others.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Inn at Va. Tech. is a great place to stay. Very comfortable and clean. The staff is friendly and they make you feel welcome. We ate breakfast at the restaurant in the Inn. The reputation of the food being excellent is true.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Jana:

Thank you for your business and for the comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We always enjoy hearing about the good efforts of our teammates. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit.

We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again on future visits to Blacskburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at the Inn at Virginia Tech when attending a teaching and learning conference hosted in the Skelton Conference Center. The facility is homey--a nice fireplace in the lobby lent a cheery air during a cold snap. The rooms are spacious, the work desk and internet connection helped in keeping up with work obligations, and the registration desk was helpful in indicating a number of options to fit in a morning run. I'd come back for a family trip!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Pamela:

Thank you for your notes regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech for the Higher Education Conference. We were pleased to read the comments about your experience.

We hope you will return again and explore Blacksburg. This community and the surrounding area have many attractions to keep your family busy.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have had the opportunity to stay at the Virginia Tech Inn on several occasions. It is a wonderful hotel. I am a proud graduate of Virginia Tech. My daughter is a junior and my son graduated in May 2012. I would highly recommend the Virginia Tech Inn. It is like going back to a place where I have so many good memories of my time at Virginia Tech. It is convenient to anything on campus or in the town of Blacksburg. The staff is superb and very professional, courteous and friendly. I plan on staying many more times at the Inn and would encourage others to make the Inn their destination of choice in Blacksburg

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Tim M:

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. It is always great to hear from guests who have enjoyed our service. I hope that you have joined our Parents Club. It is free to join and offers numerous features for families coming to visit their student.

We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again on your next visit to Virginia Tech.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for the first time in February for a high school track meet and was very satisfied with our choice of hotel. The front desks clerks were extremely friendly and very helpful with directions as we were not familiar with Virginia Tech. I was even allowed to check in early, which we really appreciated. The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. The room was extremely quiet despite the many high school students staying at the inn that weekend. The breakfast was excellent as was the service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Fey96:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your efforts to share your experience with other travelers.

I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again on future trips to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.