We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star Charm on a College Campus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Springfield, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 Star Charm on a College Campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was my second stay at the on-campus "hotel" for VIRGINIA TECH. The Inn at VA TECH is blended into the campus architectural look of "Hokie Stone" in a well designed manner. The Skelton Alumni Center is the other half of the building and serves to host events, weddings, receptions and other VT events. The hotel is right up there with the service and quality of the neighboring Hilton Garden Inn. I see virtually no difference. If you prefer to be right on the VT campus, this is a great location.

Families and friends visiting VA TECH will be pleased.

One thing I'd like to see in rooms: a refrigerator. Maybe the room I had did not include one but it would have been a nice addition.

Room Tip: The Gym or Workout room is on the 1st floor which is below the main entrance level which is labeled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Runman:

Thank you for your notes regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for posting the comments about your visit.

We have recently ordered new flat-screen televisions for all our rooms and expect they will be installed within the next 4 to 6 weeks. We are also considering the inclusion of refrigerators in our room renovation project, which is planned for next year.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    59
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
86
31
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey/ New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Pros - decent prices and decent breakfast rates. Good parking and great if you are going to be on campus a lot or have events to attend nearby.
Cons - Untrained staff, not really suited for business travelers (I am aware it is an on campus inn - but it is attached to a conference hall for crissakes). Room furnishings are dated and the quality of bedding is not quite the best.
Overall - know what you are getting into - its a standard on campus inn, not an overly professional establishment. Ok for families visiting - so there you have it.

Room Tip: 4th floor facing the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Frequent Traveller:

Thank you for staying with us at The Inn at Virginia Tech during yourr recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing the comments regarding your stay.

I'm sorry you did not feel we were well-suited for business travelers. Our location, in-room work desk, free wifi service and extensive meeting facilities are very popular with our business guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again on future visits to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Kindness and integrity! They found and are sending me my ruby necklace! Thank you Laura Renfroe for finding it and seeing that it is returned to me! She could have kept it - many would have. It was my fault for leaving it. That alone would have made for a positive review... Everyone we encountered from the moment we arrived, seemed devoted to my husband, son and I having a wonderful trip.
My husband forgot to advise the Inn when we made our reservation that my son and I have severe allergies to feathers. The front desk immediately contacted housekeeping. The housekeeping manager on duty was in our room within minutes changing the bedding himself and making sure that our health was not compromised. Who does that anymore?

Stepping Out was going on downtown. The Inn ran shuttles so everyone at the Inn could go.

Every single comment, question or concern was handled directly. The Inn was booked solid - and there were several events taking place at the same time (including weddings) bu you couldn't tell. The way the Inn handled the flow and our needs it seemed like we were the only ones there all weekend.

Business or pleasure, large or small event I couldn't have asked for a more pleasent experience. I just wish I could remember everyone's name so I could thank them all.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Terry B -

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We are proud of our team and appreciate your efforts to recognize their service to you.

Our Housekeeper tells me your necklace was found in the hallway so you may have dropped it - rather than left it behind. In any event, I'm glad we were able to reunite you with your jewelry.

Thank you again for sharing your comments. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My fiancé and I along with about 70 other guests recently stayed at the Inn in Blacksburg for our wedding weekend. Although we were not hosting our reception at their hotel the staff was overwhelmingly kind and made us feel right at home. After our wedding day we were in a rush to get home and definitely overtired from all the wedding activities. When we got home and unpacked, I noticed I was missing two pieces of jewelry. One was a gift from my husband the day of our wedding and the other was a Swarovski necklace for our wedding day. I reached out to my bridesmaids and parents to see if they had packed with any of there things since we had so many people in and out of the suite. After a few days, I received a call from the housekeeping manager Debbie who said that her housekeeper had found jewelry and a few other items while cleaning our suite. She offered to ship the items to us and wanted to make sure they got to the right address.

Debbie's kindness and her team's honesty blew me away and I am so grateful. These items had sentimental value to me that could not be replaced. As a former hokie we will most definitely be back to visit soon again and I know we will choose to stay here. The rooms are clean and most importantly the staff is wonderful! Many thanks to Debbie and her team for the saving the day!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Sophia:

Congratulations on your wedding! We appreciated the opportunity to accommodate you for this very special occasion.

Thank you also for recognizing the efforts of our Housekeeping staff to return the items you left behind. You would be amazed at the quantity and variety of articles guests will leave behind in their rooms. After your busy weekend, it's easy to see how this could happen. We have shared your comments with our Housekeeping crew. We hope to see you again soon in Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Inn at Virginia Tech in July. The Staff was nice and provided excellent service. Our room was quiet and very comfortable, even with the rollaway bed in it! I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Travln:

Thank you for posting the notes regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to the opportunity to accommmodate you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

How much better is it you are welcomed with open arms in a 5 star environment that makes you feel right at home at the In at Virginia Tech? Well as a well seasoned traveler, I can tell you this is the place to stay. When those things you do not expect come up, they are prepared. I took a trip to a winery in the area and on the way home had a reaction that caused me to be in anaphalatic shock and needed guidance as I drove and with my throat closing up. They first verbally guided me back to VA tech where the athletic trainer gave me help. Then they guided me to the hospital and stayed on my phone with them for the entire time. It gets better. When I was released from the hospital I had to have some one stay with me. The security officer checked on me every hour to make sure I was breathing. She would come in my room and wake me up as was requested. The calls from staff, the delivery of my documents to my room and the tremendous welcome as I came to the lobby today has made me feeling like I am around family. This of course is in addition to the lovely rooms and very comfortable beds and elegant areas. The lounge staff do not rush you and there are cozy areas to just sit and relax through out the hotel. Thank you to Scott Rumberger, Gavin Rod, John Smith, Dana Msundwe, and Ashley Jones. I give you a 5 start rating and I have stayed in many top respected resorts . world wide and I can honestly stay Inn and Virginia Tech rivals them all. My only suggestion is up grade the soap and shampoo to a creamier version, add a pool or hot tub and you would be perfect. Thank you for helping save my life. I will stay here when ever possible. Shari

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Sharilynne -

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Blacksburg and for recognizing the extra efforts of our staff during your stay with us. They join me in thanking you for mentioning their special attention and service.

I'm sorry that your visit to the winery caused such a crisis. We are glad that you are feeling better and we look forward to accommodating you again on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Room was quiet. Close to downtown. Wonderful breakfast and a well stocked lounge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Hokie in Spartanburg:

Thank you for the notes about your recent stay with us. Your business is appreciated and we hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;