We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cook dropped salt shaker in soup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beaverdam, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cook dropped salt shaker in soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The place is nice and clean but food from room service is terrible. Ordered a tomato bisque which was unedible due to the saltiness and the salad was also too salty. Should have sent it back but it was late in the pm to send it back. So disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear AMBxxx:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business and thank you for your comments about your stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problem with your Room Service order. I can certainly understand your reaction to the salty taste you described. If you will contact me directly, I'd like to reimburse you for the unsatisfactory meal.

I hope your stay was pleasant in spite of this situation. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you on future visits to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    77
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
107
36
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I would have given 5 stars to this hotel because of large rooms (we had 2 Queen beds) and extremely clean and recently renovated carpets and curtains and pleasant desk staff
But inexplicably we came back one evening to find our room was unmade, with a note in the door that we had had a 'do not disturb' sign. Yes we did, but it was removed when we left the room at 10:45 that morning!
Do you need to get up at 8 AM on a Saturday morning in Blacksburg to merit having your room made up?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Golfzilla:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Blacksburg - and for sharing your comments about your stay. I'm sorry our housekeeping service failed to check back on your room and complete their service. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I thought the room was clean and it was close to the college. I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Licorice:

Thank you for sharing the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights while my daughter, a high school junior, did an info session and tour of the campus. If you're visiting Tech, you cannot beat the location. They give you a parking pass which allows you to park in faculty and staff parking. That comes in handy when you're driving to the dining halls or student centers on this very large campus. Room was clean and comfortable, service is excellent. Everyone at the front desk knows the campus well. We are not alumni, not that familiar with Blacksburg but everyone made us feel welcome. Had a glass of wine at the bar in the evening and I thought that, as well as the breakfast buffet, was a good value. If my daughter chooses VA Tech, I would try to get back here for all overnight stays.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Rocker Mom:

Thank you for staying with us at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent campus visit. We were pleased to read your review of our hotel and services.

If your daughter decides to attend Virginia Tech, be sure to join our Parents Club. It offers numerous great benefits you can enjoy while she is here as a student.

We hope to see you again in Blacksburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The staff was top notch and the restaurant was fantastic with a very convenient location, however the accommodations had me hoping for more. I found the actual hotel room itself to be average at best. The bathroom was Motel 8 quality with a 1990's TV to match; despite that, the actual layout of the room was rather spacious with a nice work station. This hotel can be the best in Blacksburg with some further attention to the guest rooms.

Room Tip: The campus-wide parking pass was a huge benefit, keep in mind you'll be paying $3/day for it how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Upstate Hokie:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business.

We will be replacing all the guest room televisions this summer. We also have plans for additional renovations over the next several years.

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Usually when one stays in any hotel, regardless of the level, one can usually find something to complain about. My most recent stay at the Inn at Virginia Tech, was a refresshing exception. I can NOT for the life of come up with a short coming for this wonderful facility and its staff. EVERYONE that I interacted with was genuinely pleasant and engaging. Even, the gentleman vacuuming the carpets on the fourth floor was pleasant and helpful. Buffet breaksfast was not only very good, but frankly priced much less than I would have expected. Do yourself a favor, stay at TIAVT and enjoy all that it has to offer. The only possible complaint is that it tends to sell out even when it's not football season. Can't wait to go back. One last suggestion. Ask them for directions to Zeppoli's Italian Restaurant, which is a short drive away. Surprisingly wonderful Italian food, homemade pasta, sausages, meatballs and breads.
Bill

Room Tip: Ask for a Golf course view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Bill:

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at The Inn. We are always pleased to hear about guests that have enjoyed staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you on future visits to Virginia Tech and Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROANOKE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The staff was pleasant, but paying $179/night for a king sized bed and we had to sleep in a Murphy bed, with the mattress sliding off the frame--well, I thought that was a bit too pricey. The TV was small for the size room we had. And we had to pay for parking! REALLY? For the price I paid, there should have been a pool. But we were told we could use a pool on campus, but we'd have to pay for it. Next time, I will choose a less expensive hotel. As a Va. Tech alumnus, I was disappointed, but the atmosphere was pleasant. I agree with "RamblinMan12" in that I thought the lobby would have been a bit more impressive.

Room Tip: ask for a real bed and not a Murphy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Marie:

Thank you for sharing the notes regarding your stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech last month. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I can certainly understand your reaction when finding the bedding was not secured properly to its frame during your visit.

As a university facility, our parking lot is controlled by Parking Services and permits are required. These permits do apply to lots throughout the campus, as well.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you on a future visit to Blacksburg. I am confident we can restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.