We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Love Love The Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Princeton, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love Love Love The Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Just returned from visiting our daughter at VT. The hotel is wonderful with very comfortable beds and great hospitality. It was our third stay during the last 6 months!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Ms. Hotel - Thanks for the note about your recent visit. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you have joined our Parents Club. There is no cost to join and it offers some great benefits for your visits to campus. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    61
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
90
31
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

For anyone that has a student or business at Virginia Tech, this is the place to stay. The hotel is basic but clean and is reasonably priced. The advantage is the location, on campus, which makes moving around convenient. But, unless you like long walks, rent a car if you have to make regular trips around the campus!

The rooms are standard hotel layouts with comfortable beds and pillows. Bathrooms are small but suitable. Rooms are well maintained and the service is excellent. The hotel restaurants serve average to good meals and there are a variety of other eating places in and around the campus.

Front desk staff are eager to please and help with information. There is minimal taxi service in Blacksburg but bus service in and around the campus is very good and reasonable.

Take the SmarBus from Roanoke Airport to Virginia Tech. It is a 45 minute trip costing $4.00! Can't beat the price. Taxi service is $66.00 each way.

The Inn at Virginia Tech is about a 3 star hotel but no reason to think you won't have a great stay! We would go back there anytime.

Room Tip: If you have a student attending VT, join the Parents Club which will get you a reduced rate and a $2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for your comments about The Inn at Virginia Tech. Our staff appreciates your recognition of their service. Thank you also for mentioning our Parent's Club. It is free to parents of Virginia Tech students and offers great benefits - with no cost. We look forward to hosting you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah National Park, Virginia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at this facility while visiting Virginia Tech and it was a very positive experience. We were treated quite well by the staff, it was conveniently located within minutes of VT, easy access without traffic, and the room was lovely.

We rate this as an excellent facility/experience. Can't think of one negative. Thanks, Inn at Virginia Tech!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your efforts to share your experience and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Although I didn't see any roaches I found a roach trap underneath the bed. That was enough for me to not recommend this hotel.

Other than that this hotel seemed fine but it needs updating. Any hotel which doesn't have flat screen TVs and only has basic cable is sub par.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. The item you located behind the bed in your room is a monitoring station. It is a non-toxic device that allows us to determine if there has been any insect activity in a specific location. I'm sorry that it affected your impressions of our hotel. We hope to see you on a future visit to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed at the Inn at Virginia Tech during my son's Virginia Tech freshman orientation. The Inn is so convenient to the campus and to all the restaurants on Main Street. The staff was extremely helpful. Because the Inn is connected with the school, the Inn's staff are really tuned in to all of the activities at VT, so we could ask them anything about orientation, and they always had the answer. Our room was clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The fitness center was good. They have three treadmills, along with a variety of other cardio equipment. and free weights. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shavert, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for your notes regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. Our staff are enthusiastic abour our connection to the university. I am glad they were able to provide valuable information during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidewater, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011 via mobile

This is a first rate facility on the campus of Virginia Tech. It is clean and classy and staffed by professional, friendly people. With a child starting at VT this fall, I represent many potential stays over the next few years. If all visits are like my most recent visit, there is no reason to look elsewhere for my accommodations. The inn is within walking distance to campus and town for a $3 daily fee, Inn guests can park in many on-campus lots. All in all, this is a great facility and one I would recommend to all.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Thanks you for the nice review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the service and accommodations of our facility and look forward to hosting your stays over the next few years. As I've mentioned to a previous reviewer, please be sure to check out our Parents Club program. It's our way of saying thanks and to offer special promotions to parents of Virginia Tech students who stay with us frequently. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Took our daughter to orientation at Va Tech. Stayed at The Inn and was greeted by the best front desk staffer in my fifty year history of travel, thanks Amanda! She attended to our every need, checked on us to make sure our room was up to snuff and recommended dining options in Blacksburg. The room was spacious and quiet, the breakfast buffet yummy and one can't beat the location to campus. We will be back many, many times.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. We pride ourselves first and foremost on our customer service and it's great to hear such wonderful comments about our staff. With a daughter now attending Virginia Tech, you may be interested in our new Parents Club program which is offered exclusively to parents of VT students. Thanks again for the review, and we look forward to seeing you over the next several years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.