We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service, tasty breakfast served all day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Joe's Diner
221 North Main Street, Blacksburg, VA 24060
540.961.4194
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 106 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service, tasty breakfast served all day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We ve liked everything about this diner, attention to the Customer, great tasty fast breakfast and patience to the foreigners like me , who dont speak very good English! Thank you, Joe's Diner! Please stay as friendly as you are!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast. Happy, loud atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Breakfast burrito was hot and full of flavor but the hash browns were cold and blah. Server was scary loud. Good coffee and fast service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The best little Diner in VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Trust me, you won't ever get better service in a breakfast diner than at Joe's. I don't think the staff (and there are plenty) ever passes by without paying attention to you. My omlette was a 10!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love it! Picture perfect old style diner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had my first breakfast at Joe's this week. I now have a bone to pick with my son for not getting me there earlier in his time at VA Tech.

The menu for breakfast has something for everyone. The service was excellent. The place is spotless. The food was as good as it gets. Simple - traditional - diner - comfort food.

I had steak and eggs. The steaks at most diners is beef in name only. Joe's ribeye was tender and done the way I ordered it (medium rare - not easy for a relatively thin cut of beef). My companions both got Cheesey Scrambled and didn't speak a word while they gobbled their plates clean. I saw a few orders of French Toast and pancakes pass by to other tables and they all looked delicious. I also saw the empty plates get bussed back to the kitchen - testimony that everyone was lovin' it on a quiet Saturday morning in downtown Blacksburg, VA.

I guess one lesson learned that in a college town, there aren't many students moving about (Fridays are a big nite out - go figure) - so if you're in town and its not a game day saturday - should be easy to get in. On my next trip - I'm going back for lunch. There were a slew of things that caught my eye on the menu.

DEFINITELY A MUST VISIT PLACE IN BLACKSBURG.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn,
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“wish i found it sooner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I discovered this place my senior year at Tech and wish I had known about it sooner. A cool little hole in the wall place next to Hokie Hair on Main Street, this lunch counter style restaurant is a blast from the past. Seating is tight and they will not generally sit large groups together. They close at 2pm so if you go for lunch, go earlier. The food is good and cheap. The people that own it are really nice too. They have a good breakfast which brings in crowds on the weekends so again, go early.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;