We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. A hidden gem downtown.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellent Table

Excellent Table
119 N Main St, Ste 103, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 951-1094
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 108 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food. A hidden gem downtown.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We just ate at Excellent Table and it was fantastic! It was our first time eating Ethiopian food and we weren't disappointed. The WONDERFUL owner was so helpful as we were trying to figure out what to get and we were even given samples to try. The place is small, but very cozy and located just behind the downtown farmers market parking area.

From what we can tell and have read, the menu changes to keep things fresh but everything sounded and tasted great.

We definitely recommend eating at the Excellent Table the next time you're in Blacksburg or just looking for a great meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Excellent Ethiopian cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I have eaten at Excellent Table several times and in comparison to some D.C. Ethiopian places, this place is wonderful. The owner is very sweet and helpful, and the food is delicious!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearisburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Now That was Refreshing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I probably will never have a chance to travel to Ethiopia, but I can say that I've enjoyed its food! Located in the Farmer's Market area in downtown Blacksburg, this hole in the wall, take-out-only restaurant, deserves praise. The fare is wholesome, not too spicy or 'weird,' and you feel like you've eaten authentic food from another land. The owner/chef is Ethiopian, so it is indeed the real thing! Town-provided tables are nearby, so an Ethiopian picnic makes an enjoyable evening on the town.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Friendly Service and Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My friends and I are your average college freshmen. We have very little money and big appetites. One of my friends wanted to bring us to a local Ethiopian restaurant. Everyone was skeptical, even when we saw the building. The restaurant is very tiny itself, but is run by the nicest lady. She was the owner and loved what she did. She cooked all of the food herself and even told us that we could sample the dishes before we ordered. After tasting a few dishes, we decided to order a 12" plate (feeds 3-4 people). We had a party of 7, so we ordered two 12" plates. One plate had spicy food, while the other had mild food. The chicken was fantastic! The beef was tender and juicy! It was just an amazing experience. She served our food very fast and man was it good! I would recommend this to anyone living or visiting the Blacksburg area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Despite the plethora of Ethiopian restaurants (many of them terrible) in DC, where we live, we went to Excellent Table on our way to North Carolina just to see what Blacksburg had to offer. The owner/chef, Haregewin, is delightful, and the food was excellent! She uses authentic flavorings and cooking methods with fresh local ingredients, and makes her own injera (Ethiopian bread for eating with). We had a great meal for a very reasonable price, and we really enjoyed getting to know her. Highly recommended!

It is a little hard to find and the seating area is very small. But, we found it and had the place to ourselves. Will go back next time we're through that way.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Excellent Table also viewed

 

Been to Excellent Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellent Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.