We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ethiopian cuisine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellent Table

Excellent Table
119 N Main St, Ste 103, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 951-1094
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 109 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Excellent Ethiopian cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I have eaten at Excellent Table several times and in comparison to some D.C. Ethiopian places, this place is wonderful. The owner is very sweet and helpful, and the food is delicious!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pearisburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Now That was Refreshing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I probably will never have a chance to travel to Ethiopia, but I can say that I've enjoyed its food! Located in the Farmer's Market area in downtown Blacksburg, this hole in the wall, take-out-only restaurant, deserves praise. The fare is wholesome, not too spicy or 'weird,' and you feel like you've eaten authentic food from another land. The owner/chef is Ethiopian, so it is indeed the real thing! Town-provided tables are nearby, so an Ethiopian picnic makes an enjoyable evening on the town.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Friendly Service and Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My friends and I are your average college freshmen. We have very little money and big appetites. One of my friends wanted to bring us to a local Ethiopian restaurant. Everyone was skeptical, even when we saw the building. The restaurant is very tiny itself, but is run by the nicest lady. She was the owner and loved what she did. She cooked all of the food herself and even told us that we could sample the dishes before we ordered. After tasting a few dishes, we decided to order a 12" plate (feeds 3-4 people). We had a party of 7, so we ordered two 12" plates. One plate had spicy food, while the other had mild food. The chicken was fantastic! The beef was tender and juicy! It was just an amazing experience. She served our food very fast and man was it good! I would recommend this to anyone living or visiting the Blacksburg area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Despite the plethora of Ethiopian restaurants (many of them terrible) in DC, where we live, we went to Excellent Table on our way to North Carolina just to see what Blacksburg had to offer. The owner/chef, Haregewin, is delightful, and the food was excellent! She uses authentic flavorings and cooking methods with fresh local ingredients, and makes her own injera (Ethiopian bread for eating with). We had a great meal for a very reasonable price, and we really enjoyed getting to know her. Highly recommended!

It is a little hard to find and the seating area is very small. But, we found it and had the place to ourselves. Will go back next time we're through that way.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food, at Excellent Table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

You walk into a very small place, primarily designed for take out, and the owner/chef greets you and serves you with a warmth and friendliness that makes you feel welcome, and almost like a home. She will give you samples if you cannot decide on the menu, and this evening gave us an extra dish and complimentary hot tea. The food was wonderful, obviously made with fresh food and spices. The blend of spice and sauce in each dish created an array of flavor that was almost perfect. The bread is unique, almost gluten free, and a source of protein. Healthy food, with excellent flavor. Highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Excellent Table also viewed

 
Blacksburg, VA
Blacksburg, VA
 

Been to Excellent Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellent Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.