We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, at Excellent Table” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellent Table

Excellent Table
119 N Main St, Ste 103, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 951-1094
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 106 restaurants in Blacksburg
Restaurant details
Bluefield
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food, at Excellent Table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

You walk into a very small place, primarily designed for take out, and the owner/chef greets you and serves you with a warmth and friendliness that makes you feel welcome, and almost like a home. She will give you samples if you cannot decide on the menu, and this evening gave us an extra dish and complimentary hot tea. The food was wonderful, obviously made with fresh food and spices. The blend of spice and sauce in each dish created an array of flavor that was almost perfect. The bread is unique, almost gluten free, and a source of protein. Healthy food, with excellent flavor. Highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    14
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent flavorful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My family loves to get food to go from Excellent Table, there are a number of things to choose from, and the menu rotates everyday. It is so nice to have something different to eat. The owner is very friendly. I highly recommend trying it out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Was expecting more for less”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I recently visited Excellent Table and had high expectations after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. I was not impressed with the quality of food or the price. I lived above the Blue Nile in Harrisonburg, VA for quite some time and eat Ethiopian cuisine every chance that I get. I was hoping that excellent table would be better as I was planning before I even visited on becoming a repeat customer. The lady cooking was incredibly nice and genuine... Sadly, I will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hot and Spicy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

A surprise find in Blacksburg. I have eaten at the Excellent Table many times but my most interesting visit occurred recently when accompanied by first timers, my brother and best friend. An initial visit is an unmatched experience when the immediate explosion of flavors engulfs your palate. The balance of spices and sauces are a worthy venture into this little cultural gem.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I've had Ethiopian in Ann Arbor, Baltimore, and New York. The rich spices and quality ingredients rival all - and in such a small place as Blacksburg! The dining area is well, down-to-earth let's say, but owner/service is super nice, and since we called ahead, very quick.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Excellent Table also viewed

 

Been to Excellent Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellent Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.