We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco & Luca

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Marco & Luca
725 University City Blvd, Blacksburg, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 109 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Nice lunch at Marco and Luca. Handmade dumplings with plum sauce and the cold noodles w/ sauce and apples were excellent. Very reasonable pricing. Quick, friendly service. If you want something different from your usual meal, give this place a chance. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Not sure what the hype is about?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I had lunch at Marco and Luca and yes, the dumplings were good, but they weren't anything out of this world. The prices are low and the service is fast and friendly. The hot and sour soup had a strange taste to it, but overall, average.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Dumplings for Cheap Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great place, originating from Charlottesville, VA. Cheap prices for a lot of food, and they usually give you more then just 6 dumplings when you order. Dumplings are the best thing here, enjoy the egg drop soup, not a huge fan of the cold noodles. Definitely will be back time and time again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Dumplings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

You have to try the dumplings. They are terrific and so is the noodle dish. Great value for the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“New Category of Excellent Food: Addicitve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My son (a VA Tech Grad Student) had discovered Marco & Luca and raved about its signature dumplings. I silently thought "What could be so special or different with a dumpling?" Then when visiting the University for Graduation Weekend in May ... it all became crystal clear.

In unpretentious location at the University Mall - just down from Tech's Infamous//Famous Math Emporium - This spartan eatery serves up the most delicious dumplings I've ever eaten. Priced right for the "poor and starving" student population every serving is served fresh and accompanied by an indescribably delicious soy sauce - and a touch of their hot sauce as well.

We grabbed a quick lunch on Thursday (my first visit); and then ordered enough for a small army on Friday for an impromptu graduation lunch for twelve of us. Then we were back again on Saturday for one more "fix" before I headed back up to NoVA.

From what my son has told me that other (limited) items on the menu are equally delicious - especially the soups.

No question - if for some reason you think you need to hit a fast food joint for a quick lunch - DON'T do it. Head to Marco and Luca. This is not just a place for convenience - to me now its a destination restaurant. One more plus - they've got a few outside tables for dumplings alfresco.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco & Luca also viewed

 

Been to Marco & Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco & Luca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.