We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pita Vera

Pita Vera
235 North Main Street, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 552-9222
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 110 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Blacksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This restaurant has good food and good service, but the portions are on the small side. If you're real hungry, I would recommend getting an appetizer in addition to your main course.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great menu selections of Mediterranean foods. Fast seating with friendly staff to help select the various dishes. Reasonable pricing on all dishes. Beer and wine available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place for halal food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

They serve halal meat. Very good kabab also. But I think they should have more items. The place is also good for get together.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, but plain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The food was good, but not great. In addition, the presentation was very plain and the portion sizes modest. Granted in a casual place, I'm not looking for fancy presentation, but the shredded lettuce that accompanied my falafel and hummus just looked sad. Similarly the portion sizes, both for the baba appetizer and the falafel main dish, were underwhelming.

Regarding the atmosphere, it was a bit too casual for my group of colleagues. As a general rule, academic scientists are pretty laid back, but the wooden benches and large open space lacked any ambience.

I've been a fan of Mediterranean cooking for several years now, especially so since this spring's report about its major health benefits. So when I travel, I make sure to try at least one Mediterranean-style restaurant during my visit. I must say that I have a pretty high standard for cheap and casual Mediterranean food, since northeast Ohio has a small chain that's consistently voted as the best cheap-eats in the area. Unfortunately, Pita Vera while good, simply doesn't compare. So I'm in no rush to try this place again the next time I'm in Blacksburg.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This little gem in downtown Blacksburg has some of the best Hummus I have eaten. All the food is prepared fresh and served in generous portions. Try everything on the menu to experience the wonderful spice combinations and flavors of the Mediterranean. It is a very casual restaurant with simple tables. Decorated with customer painted ceiling tiles (make sure you look up when you get your seat) and art from the local art guild, there is always something new to look at while you wait for your meal.

I recently visited for lunch and had the Lahm-b-ageen. This is like a pizza with spiced meat. I added Feta cheese at the advice of the waiter to calm the spices just a bit. It was wonderful, a combination of very thin crunchy crust and seven spices. I chose the side salad with the house dressing (called Cedar) and it was a nice mix of red wine vinegar and spices. A good compliment to the spices on the Lahm-b-agheen.

The service is great, (we will miss you Emanuel) and everyone is very friendly and willing to describe the offerings on the menu. It does take a few minutes to get your food since it is cooked to order so if you are in a hurry, just order something from the starters menu or a salad. You can order a Maza tray and pick any three of the starters and have plenty.

If you are looking for something different than the same old, same old bar food that is offered in most of the downtown restaurants, make sure to check out this little gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pita Vera also viewed

 

Been to Pita Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pita Vera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.