We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish fare at fair prices!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of T Flynn's Pub - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
T Flynn's Pub
607 N Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 951-8321
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Irish fare at fair prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have been to T Flynn's Pub with family and friends at least 3 times. I always get the fish and chips!! The fish is beer battered and you get 3 good portions, the chips are cut from a real potato and everyone knows that THE IRISH know their potatoes!! The price is $8.95. And I have had the bread pudding each time to top off my meal. It can get crowded pretty quickly so I advise going just after the open at 11am or just before 4pm for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really Wish the Food was Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We love the idea of a good Irish Pub in Blacksburg, but this place does not fit the bill. The food is not consistent, and not really Irish fare. The people are nice, but the place can get very noisy. Will probably not return for a bit until we hear that there are improvements.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't Miss T. Flynn's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

T. Flynn's is a gem in the middle of Blacksburg. We were there on a weeknight. I had a Guinness- which was just the right temperature and perfectly pulled. We had onion rings for starters-- Oh My Gosh!!!! These are the best onion rings I've had in my entire life, and I've eaten a LOT of onion rings. The hand-batter is mixed at the restaurant with a premium beer, and the onion rings were crispy, flavorful, and cooked to perfection. The menu has something for everyone-- and the BEST idea-- a "pick 2," which is seen in many places-- but even better, a "pick 3" for $9.99. It was the perfect amount of food for my dinner. I chose a cup of Murphy's stew; blue bacon salad, and a corned beef Reuben. Great value-- great taste. And here's the best thing ever. You know that feeling at the end of dinner when you remember the items on the dessert menu, and you'd like just a taste, without your belly or calorie count exploding? Well, T. Flynn's has dessert minis! Less than $2, for an espresso-cup sized portion of their home-made yummies. I had an apple crisp, made with Irish brown bread, that came with a tiny scoop of ice cream. A perfect end to a really fun meal in a fantastic town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Hmmmm.....not so great for dinner, but fab for drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The food is a sad, sports bar interpretation of Irish pub food. Can't recommend it. They do have a great selection of beers and a wonderful deck, but parking is impossible....beware the possibility of being towed from the bank lot.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great prices but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We've visited T Flynn's twice now during happy hour. Beer and appetizers are half price until 6 pm, an amazing deal. Excellent beer choices at a rock bottom price. But - first off, it was extremely noisy. With wood floors, walls, tables, and bar, there's absolutely nothing to absorb the sound. We had to shout in each others' ears to attempt a conversation. It just wasn't enjoyable. And both times, the appetizers we ordered (Irish nachos and spinach artichoke dip) were just okay. Probably won't go back in cold weather because of the acoustics, might give it another try when it's warm enough to sit out on the deck.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T Flynn's Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T Flynn's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.