We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good time, but plan to repeat the trip several times during the day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New River Junction

New River Junction
2591 Big Falls Road, Blacksburg, VA
(540) 639-6633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 20 things to do in Blacksburg
Attraction details
Seymour, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a good time, but plan to repeat the trip several times during the day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Overall, we had a good time, mostly due to the beautiful weather and good friends that joined us. We drove on over and had a nice time in the great outdoors. The river is wide and not too deep, so we felt very safe. The water was also pretty warm, so that was especially nice. It moved along in a leisurely drift for about 30 minutes then there is some rapids just past the get out spot. The rapids are great, but you will need to walk down the road to the picnic area/get-out spot for the bus to pick you up. I would have preferred a longer tubing experience with another shuttle further down the river. It just seemed like you were just starting to get settled in, then it was already time to get out. We didn't have to wait long for the shuttles to arrive, but if it wasn't full, we would just sit on the bus and wait. The drivers were polite, but not friendly. They seemed disinterested if folks were having a good time or not.

I wasn't surprised that we had to pay to park in a field, as all of the charges are listed on their website, so check there if you have any questions about fees. However, since we did have to pay to park, I did expect somebody to patrol or at least have the feeling of being secure. Also, I'm glad it didn't rain, because they just have a pegboard type key holder where you hang your keys and anybody could watch you then go steal you car while you are in the river. . I wonder how many electronic keys have gotten ruined in the rain, when a quick storm popped up?

I did see a porta-potty and that a shower was available if you needed it.

There was a train that came by during our visit and I loved the charm of that :)

The campers in the campground seemed happy and friendly.

The next day, we chose to visit Cascade Falls in Pembroke. I would highly recommend this attraction for a day in the outdoors.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a great day this place is fun for everyone small or large groups plan ahead to make sure they are open due to water levels great place to grill out and a full day of fun. Relax down the river with a cooler or a raft for your pet. They set up the grill upon request and shuttle you back to the start for as many times down as you like. Very clean and friendly staff along with great rates make this a destination of choice. This is a A+ retreat and will return many more times!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a family run campground and tube rental by the New River near Blacksburg, VA. I stayed with a group for about a week. The bathrooms were clean, lots of grass at the camp sites. They asked that you rotate your tents every few days to protect the grass, which we did. In ground fire pits with no covers or grills, picnic tables at each site. They had porta potties in addition to clean showers for the tubers. Very knowledgeable about the river. I will definitely be back. Trains run on each side of the river very close to the campground. They run all night, just a hazard of being near the river in that part of the country. After the first night they were not a problem.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniels, West Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Camping at New River Junction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I will need to go back to provide a better review which due to the weather and the campsite folks could NOT control. We went over Memorial Weekend and were unable to use any of the water activities due to recent rain, the New River was high, fast, cold and closed to rafting. As far as the campground.....very nice place to get away and relax. It appears that many of the campers have been there several times and have created a community, one which as strangers were welcomed right in. Check in was easy along with our site # 13 which was right on the river. Fire wood must be purchased there, very much like everywhere and the office staff delivers it to your camp site. The trains....there web site is correct that if you don't like trains this isn't the spot for you. There are a set of east bound tracks right next to the campground and a road crossing so that means mandatory train whistle blowing, no matter what time of the day or night they come through and it is 6 - 10 trains per day, the west bound tracks on the other side of the river is not as bad. Even with the trains, we liked the quietness of the campground along the river and look forward to coming back again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice day on the New!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The 6 of us (2 adults and 4 kids) went to spend our day on the river enjoying the water and the sunshine. We had a very nice time. The bus shuttle back up to the start was very nice and convenient (they will even shuttle your picnic lunch down on the bus for you). The river was high so not to much butt dragging. We will definitely do this again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New River Junction also viewed

 

Been to New River Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New River Junction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.