We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lefty's Main Street Grille

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lefty's Main Street Grille
1202 south main, Blacksburg, VA
540-552-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 106 restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: American, Californian
Restaurant details
Christiansburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I have driven by this place a million times but never stopped. Granted, it is housed in an old Long John Silver's building but don't let the "dive" atmosphere keep you away. The food is outstanding. It is fresh, tasty and not your average fare. A nice variety of choices. My favorite sandwich so far is the Ham Asparagus which has herbed goat cheese, ham, and asparagus. SO YUMMO!!! They have a breakfast menu for the weekend and menus for lunch and supper during the week. We have only been there for lunch so far and are looking forward to trying breakfast and supper. Definitely one of my favorite places to eat in Blacksburg.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    6
    21
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small place but good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place got decent reviews on Yelp, so I decided to try it out. The food was quite tasty. Appetizers for the most part are run of the mill standard but the entree's are modern and a nice variety. They also have a kid's menu.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most creative menu in Blacksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Lefty's is a great restaurant in Blacksburg. In a town where the dining scene is dominated by steak houses, college bars, and burger joints, Lefty's offers a creative and fresh menu.

The decor/ambiance are terrible, but the food is great, well-made, fresh, and creative. Excellent beer selection, eclectic menu, and consistently good service.

One of the best restaurants in Blacksburg.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch! Healthy food, good prices, & good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I ate here while visiting Blacksburg, VA for the first time. When we came in we saw that almost all the tables were full, with good reason. The food was fantastic. They have burgers but with unique and delicious options like goat cheese and so forth. The service was fast and friendly. They also had a nice beer selection and deserts. We will definitely be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch yes, Dinner no”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

...Contrary to my previous visits, the food delivered on all levels. Despite not using a bun, the sourdough was toasted and thick enough to stand up to the solid amount of juice oozing out of the cooked cow. No soggy bottoms here. The beef was juicy and perfectly cooked to my preferred medium rare. And the toppings all worked together in a way that made my tastebuds glad they came along for the ride...

...I’ve been several times for both lunch and dinner. The first meal there was quite good (cashew crusted chicken sandwich) so I was excited about future visits. Next visit was very meh. Visit after that uber meh. But being a hopeful, I went again. This time I got the burger (just like the pretty one above). There we go Lefty’s, good job...

More on Lefty's and other Blacksburg establishments at http://eatingtheburg.wordpress.com/

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lefty's Main Street Grille also viewed

 

Been to Lefty's Main Street Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lefty's Main Street Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.