We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small place but good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lefty's Main Street Grille

Lefty's Main Street Grille
1202 south main, Blacksburg, VA
540-552-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 110 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small place but good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place got decent reviews on Yelp, so I decided to try it out. The food was quite tasty. Appetizers for the most part are run of the mill standard but the entree's are modern and a nice variety. They also have a kid's menu.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Most creative menu in Blacksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Lefty's is a great restaurant in Blacksburg. In a town where the dining scene is dominated by steak houses, college bars, and burger joints, Lefty's offers a creative and fresh menu.

The decor/ambiance are terrible, but the food is great, well-made, fresh, and creative. Excellent beer selection, eclectic menu, and consistently good service.

One of the best restaurants in Blacksburg.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch! Healthy food, good prices, & good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband & I ate here while visiting Blacksburg, VA for the first time. When we came in we saw that almost all the tables were full, with good reason. The food was fantastic. They have burgers but with unique and delicious options like goat cheese and so forth. The service was fast and friendly. They also had a nice beer selection and deserts. We will definitely be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch yes, Dinner no”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

...Contrary to my previous visits, the food delivered on all levels. Despite not using a bun, the sourdough was toasted and thick enough to stand up to the solid amount of juice oozing out of the cooked cow. No soggy bottoms here. The beef was juicy and perfectly cooked to my preferred medium rare. And the toppings all worked together in a way that made my tastebuds glad they came along for the ride...

...I’ve been several times for both lunch and dinner. The first meal there was quite good (cashew crusted chicken sandwich) so I was excited about future visits. Next visit was very meh. Visit after that uber meh. But being a hopeful, I went again. This time I got the burger (just like the pretty one above). There we go Lefty’s, good job...

More on Lefty's and other Blacksburg establishments at http://eatingtheburg.wordpress.com/

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Local and Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you are looking for an alternative to the chain restaurants in Blacksburg, check out Lefty’s Main Street Grille on Main Street in Blacksburg. Lefty's has a wide variety of menu options, which are different for lunch and dinner, featuring fresh ingredients and homemade tastes. It is a small restaurant, where you seat yourself and can sit inside or outside on the patio. The servers are very friendly and the chef is very accommodating to your requests. I love their Chicken Salad Sandwich, but they only feature it at lunch. When asked, the chef made it for me for dinner. This time my husband and I had the Grilled Chicken Sandwich and the Chicken Fingers and Fries; both were excellent. (Especially the Grilled Chicken Sandwich: Grilled chicken breast on grilled sourdough bread topped with sautéed mushrooms and onions, avocado, sour cream and jack cheese) Two meals, 2 waters and 2 desserts came to a very reasonable $32. I would highly recommend Lefty's. Make sure to get there early, since it tends to get crowded.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lefty's Main Street Grille also viewed

 

Been to Lefty's Main Street Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lefty's Main Street Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.