We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next door to Comfort Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mariachi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Mariachi
3703 S Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 951-7300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 106 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Waynesboro, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Next door to Comfort Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellent service and decent food - good value for the money. Reasonably authentic mexican (what americans call mexican food - burritos, chimichangas, fajitas, etc.), good family atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    6
    8
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Very nice Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stopped by with my wife after a business meeting about 12:30 pm on a Monday afternoon. Was seated promptly and drink orders taken. 16oz draft Dos Equis, taco salad and #8 luncheon special all came to a whopping $14 including tax!

Food was good and served quickly. Nice ambiance. Restaurant was only half full and many of the patrons appeared to be Mexican, which speaks well. We eat here once or twice a year. It's always predictably good, uncrowded and reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Real Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Authentic to the core, from service to food preparation. I frequent the Mexican Village area in Detroit, and this restaurant would fit right in....worth the trip and worth finding if you are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good inexpensive quality Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

A group of us go out to restaurants about once a week and we visit this one regularly. The nacho Grande lives up to 'Grande' and is very good. So is their Combination Plate. The staff is quick to serve and the food comes out in about 15 minutes. We have never been disappointed here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant in New River Valley!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Food has always been consistantly delicious since we have been visiting the El Mariachi three years ago! Try the fajitas--they are the best I have ever had anywhere and the portions are healthy and reasonably priced. The staff is friendly and efficient, checking on us several times to see if we need anything. If you like Mexican--you cannot go wrong with El Mariachi!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mariachi also viewed

 

Been to El Mariachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mariachi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.