We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality meat make me a reluctant diner” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mekong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Mekong
1405 South Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 953 - 2838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 107 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Poor quality meat make me a reluctant diner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have eater here about five times. I have had a Thai chicken curry in which the quality if the meat just looked off. I didn't eat it. I have had Pad Sie Eiew several times, both with and without meat. It is always too greasy. I have had vegetarian Thai curry, and the flavor was rather one-dimensional. Not my favorite place to eat...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible to go experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I was told 10 minutes for my order to be ready for pickup. It ended up being more like 45 minutes. The guy at the register was not friendly and no one realized they were out of what I ordered until 40 minutes in. Sorry but a free spring roll does not make up for that. Atmosphere is very underwhelming and during my 45 minutes of waiting I didn't see very good customer service. The food quality really didn't matter to me at that point.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Very good Asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stopped in the Mekong out of curiosity last week and had the beef Pho. It was excellent, with the freshest of ingredients. The seasoning was just right, and the portion was quite large. I went back again yesterday to try a different dish, the Vietnamese Chicken soup, which was just as tasty. It was filled with rice noodles, chicken, vegetables and served with a side of herbs, lime, jalapenos and bean sprouts to add to the soup as desired. Many diners around me were having interesting looking stir fries, rice dishes, and curries. Everyone seemed to really enjoy the food. The service is excellent. If you go at lunch, be prepared to wait. I recommend going a bit before noon or a bit later. They are closed on Mondays

If you have a few minutes, you might want to check out the Oasis World market next door, which stocks foods and other items from around the world you certainly won't find in your local food market.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy Asian dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our family enjoys comfort food that is a little different. We have been here three times in the past two months due to craving these dishes! We have tried Pad Thai, Drunken Noodles, Panang Curry, Fried Rice, and several appetizers. All was delicious! I asked the server who might have been the owner if she had a sample of Massaman Curry and she brought us a small bowl of the sauce. It was delicious too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai/Vietnamese cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This place serves the best Thai and Vietnamese cuisine around. They use quality ingredients and the portions are huge (even at lunch). The prices are low and staff is friendly. The owner also runs the world food market (Oasis) next door, so he gets all of his ingredients fresh and sometimes local. Love this place!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mekong also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mekong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.