We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Asian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mekong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Mekong
1405 South Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 953 - 2838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 110 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Virginia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Very good Asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stopped in the Mekong out of curiosity last week and had the beef Pho. It was excellent, with the freshest of ingredients. The seasoning was just right, and the portion was quite large. I went back again yesterday to try a different dish, the Vietnamese Chicken soup, which was just as tasty. It was filled with rice noodles, chicken, vegetables and served with a side of herbs, lime, jalapenos and bean sprouts to add to the soup as desired. Many diners around me were having interesting looking stir fries, rice dishes, and curries. Everyone seemed to really enjoy the food. The service is excellent. If you go at lunch, be prepared to wait. I recommend going a bit before noon or a bit later. They are closed on Mondays

If you have a few minutes, you might want to check out the Oasis World market next door, which stocks foods and other items from around the world you certainly won't find in your local food market.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy Asian dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our family enjoys comfort food that is a little different. We have been here three times in the past two months due to craving these dishes! We have tried Pad Thai, Drunken Noodles, Panang Curry, Fried Rice, and several appetizers. All was delicious! I asked the server who might have been the owner if she had a sample of Massaman Curry and she brought us a small bowl of the sauce. It was delicious too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai/Vietnamese cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This place serves the best Thai and Vietnamese cuisine around. They use quality ingredients and the portions are huge (even at lunch). The prices are low and staff is friendly. The owner also runs the world food market (Oasis) next door, so he gets all of his ingredients fresh and sometimes local. Love this place!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Very good Thai food in Blacksburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Ethnic cuisine in Blacksburg is sadly lacking, so we were delighted to discover Cafe Mekong. Not much ambiance, but clean and attractive, with good Thai food and good complementary beers.

Menu is very good and the food is authentic. The menu is not very extensive, but manages to offer a good variety for different tastes. Our children have tried and liked several dishes on the menu - including drunken noodle and ribs. My wife, who isn't a spice fan, likes the pad thai. I like my thai spicy, and have enjoyed several curries and some other dishes on the menu.

Service has been uniformly good on our three or four visits, and the food is excellent. Recommended.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
“It's our regular place for Thai and Vietnamese - Nothing Fancy, but Tasty, Friendly, Fast and Convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

It's a hole in the wall, located in a strip mall, but we like it. The food is tasty and fresh, the staff is friendly and efficient, and they have an excellent selection of beers and ales from American Microbrews, Europe and Asia. If you are looking for a homey, humble place for a Southeast Asian comfort food, this is your place in Blacksburg!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mekong also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mekong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.