We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Top Choice in Quality Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mekong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Mekong
1405 South Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 953 - 2838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 106 restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Blacksburg, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Top Choice in Quality Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

The best Thai and Vietnamese food this side of San Francisco.the Singapore Noodles, the Bun, the Pho are all just excellent choices as are several of the appetizers. The chefs and the staff are attentive and will cook the meals custom for their customers. A friendly and pleasant place to enjoy lunch or dinner. Choose several different dishes, enjoy the warm and the cool and ut all goes together well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    12
    20
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I Have dined here twice. The first time was with a large group and they had no trouble accommodating us and the food was brought out in a timely fashion. The other time was quite busy but we still had good service even thought it was just the two of us. The food was great both times It was worth the price. The portions are large, fine for sharing. I don't know how authentic the food is since I do not have any thing to compare it to. There is plenty of parking.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yay! Thai food in southwest Virginia!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Finally tasty Thai style food in Radford/Christansburg/Blacksburg area! Not sure how authentic my drunken noodles were but very tasty with spicy sauce and well cooked and well seasoned beef. Nice option to the proliferation of chains.

Food is the focus in the no-frills dining room but service was friendly and efficient -- definitely recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, CT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful addition to Blacksburg!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I came across this relatively new restaurant while dropping children at Virginia Tech and I am so happy I did!! This is one of those places that smells wonderful when you walk in and the food does not disappoint. I went once for carry-out and then came back with husband and another couple. We all enjoyed our selections including one vegetarian dish and curries. The prices are very reasonable, including beers. The service was fine. The only improvement could be in the atmosphere. While the colors and tables are all attractive, the lighting is very bright and stark.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Average but striving to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have eaten Thai and Viet food from all over the world and I am also from an area where Viet and Thai food are very authentic and delicious. I have to start off by saying I'm glad they decided to bring an ethnic restaurant to this area and while it is still a work in progress, I am excited to come back in the future. The food was only average because of it's claims. The pho was nicely cooked, but the soup base was tad too sour, maybe too much fish sauce. The pad thai definitely needed work. The noodles were under-cooked but the meat was delicious. I've also tried the curry and it needs less coconut milk and more spicy. Overall, once they tweek the flavors, it will be a good little gem!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mekong also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mekong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.