We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's about time that Blacksburg has good Thai/Vietnamese food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mekong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Mekong
1405 South Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 953 - 2838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 106 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“It's about time that Blacksburg has good Thai/Vietnamese food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I've eaten at Cafe Mekong twice now (once for take-out) and both times, the food was prepared perfectly. The flavors they use are incredible, and almost addictive! Service has always been fast and friendly and the prices are very reasonable for such wonderful food. We will return again and again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food, iffy atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Food is good, yes. But the way they manage people and orders feels more like a fast food place. Not a lot of options for vegetarians either.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Red Curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Red curry was excellent, service was fast. Green curry was a bowl of dynamite.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good average food but not really Thai!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Food was OK. Not like some Thai that I have tried. Had chicken satay which was rather bland. Main course served at same time as appetizer which I thought was not well done. Tried Panang curry which was spicy but again rather bland. Overall I felt that this was not a great memorable meal. Asked for a little extra rice and was told that it would be an extra $1.00 on top of the curry for 9.99. Portions are smallish. Needs more fresh herbs in their food. I will not be coming back again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Limited menu, but good takeout.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We especially like the green chicken curry. Spicy! I would like to see them expand their menu a bit. The atmosphere is a definite drawback, and it is usually pretty crowded, so we have only gotten takeout here.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mekong also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mekong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.