We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive but tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sake House

Sake House
1560 S Main St Ste 116, Blacksburg, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 106 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Inexpensive but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

They have a great menu at a reasonable price. We got the Firecracker roll, which was very tasty/spicy, California maki, which was ok, and their fried rice, which was very good. We've been to this location multiple times and always know what to expect - a very solid meal. I would definitely recommend in Blacksburg.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting creations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had some interesting sushis, some of them without the usual nori, but instead slivers of cucumber... and no rice inside either, just shredded crab. Kudos for trying something different.
Most other rolls were good to very good.
Their sauces were a bit too sweet, so ask for tehm on the side.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“always enjoy visiting Sake House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visit Sake House every time we are in the area. We always find the food very tasty and the service nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner at sake house this week and was a bit disappointed. The quality of the fish was okay, not excellent but okay. But the portion size left something to be desired. The sashimi slices were a little bigger than a postage stamp. The special roll size was good. I had the Christina and enjoyed it. Overall the sushi was average and the portion size was below average. Can't speak to how it compares with other sushi in blacksburg.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Decent Sushi in Blacksburg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Pretty decent sushi for Blacksburg. Not a restaurant that I would be particularly fond of in a real city, but it is definitely step above many of the offerings in Blacksburg.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sake House also viewed

Blacksburg, VA
Christiansburg, VA
 

Been to Sake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.