We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad place, don't go there” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Save Saved
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Red Carpet Inn
1615 South Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very bad place, don't go there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed at this place, everything is simply awful, bad service, bad old rooms with dirty walls and bathroom door, very hard beds, bathroom smelled very bad that I had to keep the door shut all the time, arrived at night and there was no one in the what so called lobby, after a long time someone came in sleepy of course, on the next day there was no one again and his wife I guess came after a very long time (from breakfast) eating in pajamas! no one even said anything that there was a breakfast (if we can call it so) I didn't miss much coffee and mini cupcakes. manager kids playing around, really felt like I am staying at there house and not at a hotel... would never stay there again... definetly not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    21
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
16
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The place is clean and nice, with a very friendly staff and probably a lot less expensive than hotels that aren't that much closer to campus. It's definitely within walking distance, but the owner/manager, Harry, was kind enough to offer me a ride to an event there at no extra charge, as I was running a little late.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A group of friends and myself came down for a weekend getaway / bachelor party / football game. The Red Carpet Inn was the perfect place for us to call it a night. Clean rooms, friendly staff and close to downtown and bus stops. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheap and clean place to stay in Blacksburg, VA! #gohokies

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I arrived in Blacksburg after three nights on a Greyhound bus from Los Angeles. Exhausted and low on money, I was appalled at the online room rates ... until I found the Red Carpet Inn on South Main Street. Harry, the owner/manager, gave me a great room rate for #108, which made it financially possible for me to stay three nights instead of only one.

I give the Red Carpet Inn in Blacksburg my highest recommendation!

Charles P.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The place is clean and confortable, and its placement is not too bad.
The worst thing: customer service. The indian lady at the reception was very mean.
The 'free breakfast' the have is very poor also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

For a budget hotel I was impressed by the quality and cleanliness of the room. I also liked that the bathroom has a sink inside of it. Too many hotels have the sink outside the bathroom and that always bugs me a bit. Personal preference I suppose.

Also; the staff was very pleasant.

Planning on staying again next time I need a room in Blacksburg as it's about half as expensive as the competition and quite conveniently located (just a short drive down from VT/the bar scene.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville, Maryland
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Once again I stayed at the red carpet inn, this time for VTECH move in. We found this place 2 years ago and have stayed here every time we go to Blacksburg. The price is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Don't let the dated exterior fool you, The owner put the money in what counts - comfortable firm beds, wifi, clean bathrooms, microwave and fridge in each room. The owners are very nice, friendly and helpful. We will stay here every time we are in Blacksburg.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 124 which is non smoking with a king size bed. the bed was great.love this convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel
Red Carpet Hotel Blacksburg
Red Carpet Inn Blacksburg
Blacksburg Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn Blacksburg, Virginia
Address: 1615 South Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.