We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Save Saved
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Carpet Inn
1615 South Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

the price is reasonable; this hotel locates close to the Virginia Tech campus; with free wireless available; Kroger and Wendy's in walking distance; i would really recommend Red Carpet Inn in Blacksburg!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    22
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
18
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Fl
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here one night for my son to attend an information session at VT. Coming from a Fairfield Inn in Fl that was a lower price, the comparison was like apples and oranges. The room was clean but I felt uncomfortable by the insecurity in the outer door. Room was clean but had an odor, that we left the door open for a couple of hours to air it out. Once it was aired out, the odor was tolerable. Probably would find somewhere else to stay if the opportunity arises. Getting a little pickier, since we travel so much for swim competitions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here one night based on decent TripAdvisor reviews, which are generally pretty accurate, but had rather poor experience.
1) Doors were not closing well, neigher to the bathroom not outside. We were surprised in the middle of the night when someone opened the door from the outside, apparently by mistake, as the door was snug and closed.
Bathroom doors on the other hand are not closing at all.
2) Walls are paper thin and you can hear everything outside, and there was a lot of noise as someone stayed up all evening and night in the parking lot smoking and watching TV attached to a truck.
3) Bed smelled and windows let too much light from outside lights at night (over the curtain).

We are usually not requiring much and stayed in Super 8 or Red Roof models which were better than this, so were a bit surprised, especially knowing that it got 4 stars on TripAdvisor. We will have to find another hotel next time we visit VA Tech, either to pay more or stay maybe in Christiansburg.

Room Tip: Take room as far away from parking lot and noise as noise will get in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you're looking for a place to stay overnight that won't empty your wallet and has the bare essentials, this is the place. The rooms are super clean, the guy at the front desk was very nice and accommodating, and the room came with a microwave, fridge, TV, AC, and a HUGE bed (will fit 3 people). It is simple and easily accessible. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I needed a place to stay on orientation day at Virginia tech because I brought my girlfriend down and found excellent service at the red carpet inn. Great location because it is not too far away from campus and is also near places like Kroger and the cookout. The red carpet inn's manager was very nice and provided very customer friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We've stayed one night in Blacksburg to buy some stuff together for a camping trip in the National Parks around, so we've looked for an affordable, nice place in the vicinity of the town. And we've found the Red Carpet Inn!
The welcoming was super friendly, the room was clean and with new interior. And of course the big bed...
There's a bus stop just outside if you want to leave the car and stray through Blacksburg on foot.
The WiFi was working without problems.
All in all: excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Clean, quite and in very close proximity to the Stadium/campus. Not to mention right across are a few (very good) food joints. Solid connection to WIFI which is important since my company is internet based.

All things considered, I give this one the 5 star (circles are what they are using these days I guess).

Room Tip: Try room 114, worked well for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 1615 South Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Blacksburg
Red Carpet Inn Blacksburg, Virginia
Blacksburg Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.