We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but not much else going for it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Save Saved
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Carpet Inn
1615 South Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value but not much else going for it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here one night based on decent TripAdvisor reviews, which are generally pretty accurate, but had rather poor experience.
1) Doors were not closing well, neigher to the bathroom not outside. We were surprised in the middle of the night when someone opened the door from the outside, apparently by mistake, as the door was snug and closed.
Bathroom doors on the other hand are not closing at all.
2) Walls are paper thin and you can hear everything outside, and there was a lot of noise as someone stayed up all evening and night in the parking lot smoking and watching TV attached to a truck.
3) Bed smelled and windows let too much light from outside lights at night (over the curtain).

We are usually not requiring much and stayed in Super 8 or Red Roof models which were better than this, so were a bit surprised, especially knowing that it got 4 stars on TripAdvisor. We will have to find another hotel next time we visit VA Tech, either to pay more or stay maybe in Christiansburg.

Room Tip: Take room as far away from parking lot and noise as noise will get in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
18
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you're looking for a place to stay overnight that won't empty your wallet and has the bare essentials, this is the place. The rooms are super clean, the guy at the front desk was very nice and accommodating, and the room came with a microwave, fridge, TV, AC, and a HUGE bed (will fit 3 people). It is simple and easily accessible. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I needed a place to stay on orientation day at Virginia tech because I brought my girlfriend down and found excellent service at the red carpet inn. Great location because it is not too far away from campus and is also near places like Kroger and the cookout. The red carpet inn's manager was very nice and provided very customer friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We've stayed one night in Blacksburg to buy some stuff together for a camping trip in the National Parks around, so we've looked for an affordable, nice place in the vicinity of the town. And we've found the Red Carpet Inn!
The welcoming was super friendly, the room was clean and with new interior. And of course the big bed...
There's a bus stop just outside if you want to leave the car and stray through Blacksburg on foot.
The WiFi was working without problems.
All in all: excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Clean, quite and in very close proximity to the Stadium/campus. Not to mention right across are a few (very good) food joints. Solid connection to WIFI which is important since my company is internet based.

All things considered, I give this one the 5 star (circles are what they are using these days I guess).

Room Tip: Try room 114, worked well for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Inn is clean and affordable. I had the honor of staying here twice (January & June) and was more than happy with their impeccable service. Rooms are kept clean and they offer different discounts depending on the agency you book with.
The couple running the place are kind and generous. They do all they can to make your stay comfortable and easy going. I would definitely stay here again! Thank you

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The exterior of the hotel is dated, but don't let that fool you. The owners have created good value where it counts. The beds and bedding, carpeting, bathroom grouting, sink, etc. are all new and very clean. Everything is basic, but in good working order. There's a fridge and microwave, cable tv and, of course, the free wi-fi is an unexpected bonus. This is a great option for a budget-minded family. It's true that the friendly and hard-working owners are warm and welcoming.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 1615 South Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Blacksburg
Red Carpet Inn Blacksburg, Virginia
Blacksburg Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.