We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Red Carpet Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1615 South Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Best deal in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed with my two children for a Va Tech Open House weekend. Best price in the area and seemed to be the closest to campus.

Check-in was quick (probably the owner's daughter? Seemed as nice as the owner has been reviewed!) Easily switched from a king to two doubles for just a little more - $50 - $57. Room was very clean, plastic covers on the mattress and box springs and the bathroom was freshly painted. Bathroom was also spotless. No extras like mini-shampoo bottles or hair dryer but the frig was huge and the microwave was also shiny clean. Towels are rather small but for this price, I'll bring my own if we return as Hokie parents someday!

Coffee, hot water and tea bags were available but there was only sweet and low. No donuts on this Sunday morning.

Room Tip: Be careful of the very steep entrances!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    25
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
20
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colonial Heights, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

If you are looking for a ultra modern hotel, this is not for you. If you want a home place flavor and price come on down. The beds were comfortable, the water pressure great and lots of hot water. We watched the VT game on our internet connection so it's definitely fast enough. The owner and his wife are extremely helpful and caring of their guests comfort. Just a few blocks from VT, price is $50ish, great eats (owner can get you anywhere in the area). This was our 2nd visit and definitely will be where we go each time we visit our daughter at VT.....did I mention that the hotel is painted VT colors??? Go Hokies

Room Tip: Upper back rooms have direct access with no steps from back parking lot if you have trouble with sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Red Carpet Inn is an obviously older motel, but it was one of my most pleasant stays during a trip to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Rooms were basic but all of the essentials were there. The mattress was very comfortable, and the room was a reasonable size and looked and felt clean and in good condition.

The location simply can't be beat for the price. You're at most 5 minutes from downtown. Any closer, and you'll probably pay double.

Last but not least, the owners were perhaps the friendliest I have ever run across, which really made the stay pleasant. They clearly want their customers to be happy with their stay and, being a budget hotel, they focus on what matters.

If I'm ever back in Blacksburg, the Red Carpet Inn will be my first choice.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I have stayed here twice and my daughter once in the past few months. Can't beat the location and price! Right on main street with easy access to the Blacksburg Transit bus stops to VT (only 50 cents each way). Plenty of places to eat nearby. Customer service superb, extremely nice owners, really go out of their way to help and accommodate in any way. Rooms have microwave and fridge, Wi-Fi access, not luxury but very comfortable and clean. Every other place in town is double the price. I plan on staying here every time I am in Blacksburg--can't beat the value!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed there for two nights, very good experience. The staff are very nice, rooms are clean, most importantly, the price are surprisingly cheap. Very good for the value. If I had chance to visit VT again, definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iran
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stay for 3 nights. It costs only 56$ for a king size room.

The sheets are clean but the room was dark and small.

Free coffee and donought was availble at morning.

I recommend it based on its price!

It has free WLAN service in room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

great price, the rooms were very clean with frig and microwave. convenient to va tech. friendly, knowledgeable owners. a motorcycle group trashed their room and gave a bad review here when scolded but we found the inn to be very clean and came back twice more while we were picking up/dropping off kids!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
1.9 mi away
The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#3 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 1615 South Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Blacksburg
Red Carpet Inn Blacksburg, Virginia
Blacksburg Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.