We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location in hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Preston's

Preston's
901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-0120
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Preston's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 106 restaurants in Blacksburg
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: University City Blvd
Description: The leading restaurant in the New River Valley, Preston’s specializes in farm-to-table dining featuring premium meats and sustainable fresh seafood choices. Preston’s local artisan cheese selection, signature dishes such as the Cedar Plank Salmon, the locally famous Corn & Crab Cake appetizer, and - of course - sumptuous house made desserts are some of the reasons you want to visit. Preston’s is known also for its progressive wine list including many fine Virginia labels, hand crafted cocktails, and attentive service. Various nightly promotions make Preston’s always a fun place to celebrate great food and drink. Preston's serves breakfast and luncheon buffets daily with a rotating menu providing a variety of delicious fare including healthful selections. Dinner features an a la carte menu with selections for the most discriminating palette. Preston's is also the place for the New River Valley's finest Sunday Brunch.
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Convenient location in hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our server was attentive and friendly. The rainbow trout appetizer was quite good. Several had a Caesar salad which had a heavy dose of dressing. There were 6 of us and the entrees ( fresh catch, beef and scallops ) were okay, if a little disappointing. The main attraction was the convenience - we had a full and busy day and eating in the same hotel where we were staying was appealing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    12
    13
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not a standout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I've had a few very nice dinners at Preston over the past few years ... but my last two or three visits were underwhelming and overpriced for the quality.

The Thursday evening before graduation should have been a night of full reservations - we sat in the dining room only about 1/3rd full for 7:30 reservations. I should have suspected that perhaps the word was out and we should have opted to drive up the road to 622 North restaurant and celebrate there.

This last visit was for what I hoped would be a very special 'night before graduation' for a close friend of the family. We all ordered steaks - at Northern Virginia Top Steak House Prices - and were served fairly tough and over cooked entrees.

Service for us was less attentive than we wanted.

I may go back but only if invited by someone else who had made the reservations - but I won't be calling any time soon ... unless I see some new reviews that tell me the management has got the message and addressed the food quality issues.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowville, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Having eaten in Preston's before, the Mother's Day Buffet in the Ballroom was very disappointing. The service and the cold bar were excellent; the "extras" well done (while the guitarist was great, the pianist was abysmal.) However, for price charged ($32 adult and $21!!! for children,) the food was mediocre and the dessert selection was embarrassingly inadequate in selection and quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Make sure you know what you are getting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My family and I were celebrating a graduation and I made reservations at Preston's months ago - and confirmed three times through phone calls asking different questions about the restaurant. The graduate loves steak and the restaurant's menu offered several kinds. When we arrived, we were not directed towards the restaurant, but towards the inn's banquet room - a huge buffet was set out and we were informed that the restaurant would not be open that evening, instead, there would be a $35/head buffet. At no time, up until the arrival for the reservation, did any of the staff who answered the phone mention this. The food was mediocre - like food at a banquet - there was rice, macaroni and cheese, fingerling potatoes, grilled vegetables, chicken, prime rib, a salad bar in the middle and a dessert table with cupcakes, mousse, and a chocolate fountain. They offered a limited bar menu and listed a bottle of wine available, but did not say who made the wine. So, the option for steak, prime rib, was there, but it wasn't the special celebration we intended. I understand that the inn wanted to optimize its earnings potential and accommodate as many diners as possible, however, the right thing to do would have been to advertise the change in the venue/menu. We will not have the occasion to return to Blacksburg, but I recommend if there is any sort of special event going on (holiday, etc.) that one asks, specifically, what will be available when booking at Preston's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, VA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Local food was fresh and imaginative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were staying at the Inn at Virginia Tech, so Preston's seemed like an easy way to celebrate my husband's birthday. The goat cheese and beef were locally purchased and we could taste the freshness. Not overly formal, yet romantic, it was the perfect venue for us. Great service and good pricing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preston's also viewed

 

Been to Preston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Preston's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.