We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Subs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sub Station II

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sub Station II
112 Turner Street Northwest, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 951-0001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 106 restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Best Subs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We make sure to eat at Sub Station II every time we're in Blacksburg. It's a family rule now when we're traveling - no going to Blacksburg or Christiansburg, VA without stopping at Sub Station II. The meat and cheese is sliced fresh for every sandwich. The atmosphere is fun - a typical sub shop in a college town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    7
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good food, restaurant needs a makeover.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

First time at the sub station. The food was good, fast, staff was friendly. The place needs a makeover bad. I would eat there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Surprised to see how low this is rated. We eat lunch here on every visit to blacksburg and the quality is always the same. There's no frills, just a basic sandwhich shop. The slice your meat/cheese fresh and have good toppings to put on top. The bread is excellent.

wish we had one in Northern VA

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice subs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Their subs are nice and have lots of deli meat options, but the salad options are limited (compared to Subway) and I sure wish they had the option to toast their sandwiches, like Subway does. I think that's why Substation is still second to Subway on my view.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My favorite sub shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After years of being away from Blacksburg - one thing hasn't changed, and that's the great food and service at Sub Station II. Don't expect all-new recipes or one-of-a-kind subs, just expect great subs that are consistently wonderful.

The place is very Blacksburg with Hokies memorabilia on the walls and they always have a great special and the menu is a good value in general. Go here and skip the chains if you are in the mood for subs!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sub Station II also viewed

 

Been to Sub Station II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sub Station II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.