We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sub Station II

Sub Station II
112 Turner Street Northwest, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 951-0001
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #27 of 103 restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Surprised to see how low this is rated. We eat lunch here on every visit to blacksburg and the quality is always the same. There's no frills, just a basic sandwhich shop. The slice your meat/cheese fresh and have good toppings to put on top. The bread is excellent.

wish we had one in Northern VA

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    6
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice subs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Their subs are nice and have lots of deli meat options, but the salad options are limited (compared to Subway) and I sure wish they had the option to toast their sandwiches, like Subway does. I think that's why Substation is still second to Subway on my view.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My favorite sub shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After years of being away from Blacksburg - one thing hasn't changed, and that's the great food and service at Sub Station II. Don't expect all-new recipes or one-of-a-kind subs, just expect great subs that are consistently wonderful.

The place is very Blacksburg with Hokies memorabilia on the walls and they always have a great special and the menu is a good value in general. Go here and skip the chains if you are in the mood for subs!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good sub shop, but not spectacular.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We ate here on a Friday evening in June. Not much going on in town, but this place seemed boring. All 3 of us had the special which was good as we were able to choose our toppings, Subway style. Good, but will probably not return next year when we are in town. We did like the VA Tech athletes photos on the walls.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Subs are subs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Not sure how to rate a submarine sandwich shop but here goes. Pretty decent subs which met my expectations and very similar to say a Subway. I had the tuna foot long and I ate the whole thing so I guess it passes muster. Quick service and cheap prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sub Station II also viewed

 

Been to Sub Station II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sub Station II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.