We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite sub shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sub Station II

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sub Station II
112 Turner Street Northwest, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 951-0001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 110 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My favorite sub shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After years of being away from Blacksburg - one thing hasn't changed, and that's the great food and service at Sub Station II. Don't expect all-new recipes or one-of-a-kind subs, just expect great subs that are consistently wonderful.

The place is very Blacksburg with Hokies memorabilia on the walls and they always have a great special and the menu is a good value in general. Go here and skip the chains if you are in the mood for subs!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good sub shop, but not spectacular.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We ate here on a Friday evening in June. Not much going on in town, but this place seemed boring. All 3 of us had the special which was good as we were able to choose our toppings, Subway style. Good, but will probably not return next year when we are in town. We did like the VA Tech athletes photos on the walls.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Subs are subs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Not sure how to rate a submarine sandwich shop but here goes. Pretty decent subs which met my expectations and very similar to say a Subway. I had the tuna foot long and I ate the whole thing so I guess it passes muster. Quick service and cheap prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Sub Shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is the best sub shop in Blacksburg by far! It has been around for many years and it isn't anything special - just the best sub!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better than any sub chain restaurant---hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The quality and freshness of their subs is awesome. It can be crowded at times but the service is very fast. I always get whatever their special is for the day and get it loaded.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sub Station II also viewed

 

Been to Sub Station II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sub Station II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.