We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May not look like much but decent gyros” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Souvlaki

Souvlaki
201 College Ave, Blacksburg, VA 24060-7403
540-951-0555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 110 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“May not look like much but decent gyros”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

From the front you really wouldn't make much of this place. However, the gyros and other Greek items are a pleasant surprise. Steer clear of their traditional bat food, bench r fries and the like. They're just the bagged kind.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Best Souvlaki in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I visited here one lunch hour with a friend. What a score! I love the souvlaki and other pita sandwiches. Pair a pita with some fries and a coke and you can't go wrong. By far better souvlaki than The Greeks.
I love the location, too. It's easy to walk from campus and generally easy to find parking nearby after-hours.
The staff here is great. These guys and gals provide excellent service and strive to make your experience awesome.
The serve Hunts ketchup also, which is soooo much better than Heinz!
I will miss Souvlaki when I graduate!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very Good...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

One of the best Gyro's I have had (get extra sauce) ...don't be fooled by the building...it is a small place. But well worth it.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Lunch Spot in Blacksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Without a doubt, my favorite lunch spot in Blacksburg! Great prices, generally super fast service (unless you catch them on a slammed lunch rush). Subs, Gyro, Falafel, Spanakopita, Hummus.. the list goes on!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Greek fast food in a great college town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

A tradition since my first stop in Blacksburg in the mid - 80s. This place is where I had my first gyro... and no other place I've been to in nearly 30 years even comes close. The restaurant is small, so don't expect a seat during busy weekends (like game days). Somehow, it doesn't matter. The food comes quickly.

Over time, the restaurant has changed the way it serves their gyros (they used to be wrapped in paper and foil and given with the instructions "peel, don't unwrap"). Now, it seems, it comes with just a paper wrapper. This makes it messier to eat the gyro, but the sandwich is no less tasty for lacking the extra layer of wrap. The gyro meat is warm, tasty, and has the classic slightly crunchy texture of spit roasted meat. The cucumber sauce is cooling. The whole wrap is a perfect balance.

The curly fries are a perfect accompaniment. If you like a lot of salt, you may need to add more... but I think the fries are just fine as they are.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souvlaki also viewed

 

Been to Souvlaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souvlaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.