We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Souvlaki

Souvlaki
201 College Ave, Blacksburg, VA 24060-7403
540-951-0555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 106 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I love their cucumber dip and the grilled pita! Souvlaki is great food for very low prices. Everything I have had here is good, its a two minute walk from the Virginia Tech campus. I have come here with friends many times and I'm always happy. Quick service for takeout. Seating in the restaurant is limited but I have usually been able to get a seat.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very tasty gyro meat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was close to the Virginia Tech campus so we walked there. It's a very small place - you can place your order at the counter and have a seat or sit and she'll come over and take your order. The food same out on disposable plates and plastic forks and knives - but we didn't care - we were there to eat. The meat was just mouthwatering. The tzaziki sauce was flavorful and the pita was very fresh tasting. The salad was pretty tasteless - but I was more into the meat and sauce anyway so I didn't really care. It would have been nice if the salad dressing was at least a little more vinegary - is that a word? It wasn't a HUGE plate of food, but it was enough to fill us up and sooooo tasty!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Blacksburg Staple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Souvlaki is a no-frills Greek place in downtown. It has wonderful food. Service can sometimes be slow. The interior is small, so try to get there just before the lunch rush.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome food, no service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great little hole in the wall near the Lyric in Blacksburg. My friend loves their grilled cheese pita appetizer with cucumber sauce. It was AMAZING! The prices were really good too. I had their traditional gyro pita and it was fantastic. The atmosphere is low key and kind of like a fast food restaurant. The food came quickly and was hot and tasty. I didn't get to try their baklava but that will happen on my next visit. Great place to visit during the summer in blacksburg!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't be fooled by the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

When you first walk in, it looks like a little hole in the wall, but don't be fooled by the appearance. There's a big sign on the wall that says " Don't complain about the service, because there isn't any." It's true, the service wasn't bad, it just wasn't there. The food is fresh and quick and the prices are very reasonable. The gyros are good and most times I can eat two! Cute little place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souvlaki also viewed

 

Been to Souvlaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souvlaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.