We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yumm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green's Grill & Sushi Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Green's Grill & Sushi Bar
109 College Avenue, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 961-2020
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 106 restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Sushi, Vegetarian, International
Restaurant details
2 reviews
“Yumm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Best breakfast in town! Make sure that you get there early enough for a biscuit! Servers are really nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    14
    10
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Floyd, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food I've had is fresh and tastes good. The dining area is very dated and small but that doesn't bother me. Have not tried the sushi but the Med. food is great!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Go Green”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This small restaurant is located in Downtown Blacksburg right across the street from the Virginia Tech campus and it’s a very popular spot for students. This was our second visit to Green’s Grill & Sushi and it was very busy both times we’ve been.

The menu offers an interesting mix of cuisines and dishes. There is a nice sushi selection, mediterranean inspired dishes, salads, some indian items, and a few traditional american foods.

During my first visit a few months ago, I tried the Grilled Chicken Tikka platter, which came with grilled chicken that was marinated in spices, rice, pita bread, relish, and a side salad. This was a massive amount of food and the chicken had outstanding flavor, which is a big reason why I wanted to return to Green’s this past Saturday.

I knew the chicken was good, but I decided to try something a little different for lunch and ordered the Turkish Beef Sandwich with a side salad. Similar to the chicken, the ground beef had terrific flavor and paired very well on the warm pita with onions, tomatoes, and relish. I tasted hints of nutmeg and cinnamon in the beef, which are spices I wouldn’t normally associate with ground beef but loved the flavors anyway. The sandwich and salad was plenty of food and a reasonable value at around $8.00.

I’ve been extremely impressed with the food during both of our visits to Green’s Grill and Sushi. After ordering two items that featured food from the grill, it must be time to now try the sushi.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“not too impressed.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was just ok .. service very slow and mediocre food... go to Gilleys down the street instead for a better meal.

.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eclectic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I thought this was just a sushi place, but it's not. The Mediterranean food is delicious--especially the shawarma. The dining area is very small and cramped, but it's pleasant. Staff is friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green's Grill & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Green's Grill & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green's Grill & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.