We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value; Plan to Return for Future Stays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites University

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Plantation Road, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Excellent Value; Plan to Return for Future Stays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

I booked multiple rooms sight unseen and was pleased with the resulting stay. We were part of a large group at Virginia Tech for a youth event, so the hotel was very busy when we were there. I got a great group rate! The rooms were comfortable and definitely adequate--not quite the biggest I've seen, but Hawthorn didn't have the huge price tags that the others do, too.

There's an indoor pool which was great for the kids, although the chlorine in the air was enough to burn my eyes. The breakfast offering was OUTSTANDING. They were supposed to open at 7:30 a.m. because it was a weekend, which was too late for our group, so they eventually decided to open it early. It took a lot of prodding, but they made the right choice and I'm pleased with our stay.

I travel to the university several times a year, and we hope to stay at Hawthorn every time. Usually I'm a Hampton Inn girl, but this was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    35
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
62
8
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

This hotel bent over backwards to make our wedding guests comfortable! Prices were reasonable, amenities were fantastic! Anything we asked for they made sure we had immediately! We were able to use the Meeting Room for our son's rehearsal dinner and it was fantastic! Everyone on staff went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed including allowing us an impromptu song fest in the lobby the night of the wedding when our guests returned from the reception too excited to go to sleep! I can't say enougth about this hotel. We will reccomend them to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

I realize this is not a top notch hotel but come on.... I know the pillows with corduroy are for show but your money would be better spent on less show and real quality pillows. The bedding in a hotel makes all the difference in any hotel. The actual (ONE) pillow was made of rubber and when you tried to conform it to some kind of comfort...it would pop from under your head. When I went to take a shower the next morning there was one half bottle of shampoo that someone else had used. I was very disappointed in the buffet. The eggs were round cylinders that were frozen, the english muffins were stale, the waffle machine was not working properly so the waffle mix ran off the griddle. I can always go somewhere else for breakfast but I need to have some comfort when I sleep. Please upgrade your bedding it's a really cheap fix.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

This is my second stay within the last 12 months. Two great stays. Rooms are clean, beds very comfortable and staff courteous and helpful. I'll continue to come back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We went to Blacksburg as first time parents for VT move in. Boy did we make a mistake. All the hotels were full...(guess we'll make reservations next time). We make one last stop at the Hawthorne, they were full also. The helpful desk clerk (cant remember her name told us about having three 4pm holds. Apparently hotels cancel rooms that have not been held with a credit card at 4:00. She told us about the area and asked if we would like her to recommend a resturant close by. She took our cell number and about 1 hour later called us with the good news!!! We finished our meal and went to check in. The room was nice, almost like a two room suite but not divided by a door. Great stay and great friendly staff.

p.s. if you do stay, ask for the mountain side view...GREAT

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Liked: Hotel is close (a few minutes drive) to VA Tech, the room/suite is quite large with a desk and small eating/working table, it was clean and the bed was comfy. Check in and out went smoothly with friendly staff. Free internet was easy to use. Free breakfast was ok, there was a waffle maker and a few hot items. Didn't like: the bathroom was small, with the sink counter out in the bedroom area. Also the fire alarm was in the bedroom section and had an annoying blinking light. Misc comments: the indoor pool and fitness room were small but nice. Parking was fine. Gas station close by but no walking distance restaurants. It has a small snack shop attached to lobby desk. There is only 1 TV that could be turned and viewed from bedroom or sitting room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Great staff. Great breakfast. Great location if you plan to visit Virginia Tech. All the rooms are suites and have a mini-kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Address: 1020 Plantation Road, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Comfort Suites® University offers easy access to Virginia Tech and a host of local restaurants and shops in Downtown Blacksburg, VA. This Blacksburg, Virginia hotel also offers convenient access to US Route 460, making travel to Christiansburg, Radford and Dublin easy. Other nearby attractions include: Smithfield Plantation Museum of Geological Science First & Main Shopping Plaza New RiverGuests of the Comfort Suites University hotel are invited to relax in the indoor heated pool or work out in the fitness center. A variety of outdoor activities including badminton, basketball, tennis, biking, boating, fishing and golfing are also nearby. There is one meeting room, which can accommodate 45 people for banquets and 75 for conferences. Other amenities include: Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free daily newspaper Business CenterYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.All rooms are either suites or oversized – perfect for families and others needing a little space – and offer a large desk with USB docking station, a flat-screen television with cable, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper and kitchen facilities.This is a non-smoking hotel.Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Comfort Suites University a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Blacksburg, VA area. Book a room with us today, we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Hawthorn Suites
Comfort Suites University Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.