We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a Virginia Tech visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites University

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Plantation Road, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a Virginia Tech visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for one night before moving our child into the dorm at VA Tech. The hotel is either new or updated. Check in was easy, and we were given a room near the lobby as requested. The room was a suite style with a partition between the two rooms, all relatively large and easy for 3 to move around. The bathroom was a little small. The beds were very comfortable although we had full size; I don't know if queens are available. There was a pull out sofa in the second room, but we did not use it. Breakfast was a little limited and ended at 9:30 on a weekday. No problems at all. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We hope you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for staying with us -- we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    35
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
62
8
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter is starting University this year and I stayed 3 nights to help her and to explore Blacksburg. Loved the area. Great stay at the hotel. Really like the hotel: great price, room is very spacious,very comfortable with everything I needed, the hotel was super quiet and clean. The staff there were very helpful and the lady at the front desk spent a lot of time with me recommending and give me directions to great hikes.
I highly recommend this hotel if you want to be in a quiet area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your business and your recommendation are much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here 4-nights while visiting family in Blacksburg. Hotel was easy to find and convenient. It was very quiet in spite of our 1st floor room facing front parking lot and being adjacent to the indoor pool entrance. The pool was not used much, however, while we were in the hotel. Breakfast was nice the couple of days we ate there. The breakfast room was crowded over the weekend.

Room Tip: Our 1st floor room facing front parking lot and adjacent to the indoor pool entrance but was still r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Suites. We appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed your visit to Blacksburg. We'd love to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel has all the basics you can want, and is really quite nice. The location is convenient to Virginia Tech, the room with the suite was nicely appointed, the staff was very helpful and the breakfast was good.

There are a few things that need adjustment to make it 4/5*. The most significant was the AC in the room. It made our pleasant looking room smell musty and moldy. Maybe it was just ours, but we got in too late to mess with it. The others are little- no hand towels or washcloths, the bathroom wasn't very clean, very little lighting.

If you run into the same thing, I'm assuming a change to your room can give you a 4/5* experience.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I'm glad you enjoyed an overall pleasant experience with us. But the little things do matter (a lot!), so I appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. We hope to see you again soon -- we'll be aiming high for a 5-star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Finally a great hotel experience in Blacksburg, Va. Hotel room was clean, quiet, and the bed was comfortable. Front desk clerk let us have a top floor room which looked out onto the pasture nearby. We stayed just one night so I cannot remark on housekeeping nor breakfast but otherwise an overall pleasant experience. One drawback- lighting could be better for applying makeup.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us, however brief. I hope we can be your hotel of choice in Blacksburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel staff was very nice. I appreciate good customer service!

The room was good, very spacious. The fridge and microwave were very convenient.

The downside was the bathroom had so much hair on the floor, in the shower, and in the sink. I'm sure it wasn't mine because it was too long and I hadn't even used anything. I was not a huge fan of all of the hair.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. On behalf of our team, I apologize for the obvious and disappointing housekeeping oversight in your room. I'm glad you enjoyed an otherwise positive stay with us and hope we'll be seeing you again soon. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va Beach
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

(BLUF in Navy-speak is Bottom Line Up Front). During our son's recent orientation at VA Tech, we were able to book 2 nights at Comfort Suite University (government/military rate). The positive reviews here at Trip Advisor and other sites are reflective of the superb service the hotel management and staff provide. The front desk personnel were courteous and friendly. We were checked in to a 3rd floor room with an outstanding view of the mountains. Being tucked away from the main road gives guests one of the quietest hotel experiences one will ever have. Although there were a couple of hiccups, this did not diminish from the overall outstanding experience we had. For some reason, our room did not have a refrigerator. A phone call to the front desk quickly solved the issue and one was provided within 30 minutes. The suite had two phones but the one by the bedside had no dial tone (I forgot to mention this to the front desk during checkout). The room had enough space for at least 5 people since the sofa was a pull out bed. Other amenities include microwave, coffee maker, TV with HBO, iron, and hair dryer. The room includinng the bathroom was clean. Free breakfast (waffles, eggs, sausage, toast, bagels, fruits, coffee, juices, etc.) was served every morning starting at 6:30 a.m. Juan ensured ample supplies of food were on the serving line. Our positive experience was reinforced by the friendliness of the staff including the maintenance person who brought up the refrigerator and Alex at the Front Desk. We'll definitely be back although if you are planning to stay here, be mindful of VA Tech football home game dates as you may find those are fully booked.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the upper floors to take advantage of the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a thoughtful critique of your experience at the Comfort Suites. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Your kind words about our team are gratifying and much appreciated. We appreciate, too, you bringing the little hiccups to our attention -- we will do our best to avoid those in the future. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Address: 1020 Plantation Road, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Comfort Suites® University offers easy access to Virginia Tech and a host of local restaurants and shops in Downtown Blacksburg, VA. This Blacksburg, Virginia hotel also offers convenient access to US Route 460, making travel to Christiansburg, Radford and Dublin easy. Other nearby attractions include: Smithfield Plantation Museum of Geological Science First & Main Shopping Plaza New RiverGuests of the Comfort Suites University hotel are invited to relax in the indoor heated pool or work out in the fitness center. A variety of outdoor activities including badminton, basketball, tennis, biking, boating, fishing and golfing are also nearby. There is one meeting room, which can accommodate 45 people for banquets and 75 for conferences. Other amenities include: Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free daily newspaper Business CenterYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.All rooms are either suites or oversized – perfect for families and others needing a little space – and offer a large desk with USB docking station, a flat-screen television with cable, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper and kitchen facilities.This is a non-smoking hotel.Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Comfort Suites University a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Blacksburg, VA area. Book a room with us today, we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Hawthorn Suites
Comfort Suites University Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.