We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites University to your Saves list
Comfort Suites University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Plantation Road, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is location is one of my favorite to stay at,it is quiet, again the breakfast items are limited, though I can say the oj taste like oj. Staff I on top of things rooms are clean. Did not use the pool this time, it is a nice pool and handicap accessible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. And we're very happy to be considered one of your favorites. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    37
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
63
8
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for an annual soccer event at VTech. The hotel is great! The location is close to everything. It has a pretty lobby with lots of sitting areas, a clean indoor pool with outside patio and very nice employees. The rooms are large with a fridge & a pull-out couch. There is lots of parking and overall the hotel deserves a high score. BUT the in-room air conditioner is loud and turns off/on constantly. It is one of those old wall/under the window units so whoever sleeps in the bed near it freezes, while the rest of the room is hot. Heating/Cooling system needs updating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I appreciate you bringing the issue with your AC unit to our attention; we are always looking for ways to improve the comfort of our guests, so your feedback is of great value to us. I'm glad to hear the rest of your experience was positive and hope to have you back with us for future events -- and more restful nights' sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I just felt the need to write a review on this hotel. First and foremost the staff, amazing! Alex at the front desk, working the late shifts really needs to be commended for his kind demeanor, helpfulness and accommodating nature. I've stayed here frequently over the past couple months, always getting in late and he's always my go-to guy willing to go above and beyond to make my stay way above average. So a big thanks goes out to him! The rooms, are always spotless and the beds are super comfortable. The layout of all the rooms are the same and they are very ideal for a pleasant and cozy stay. I rate this hotel a five out of five because that's the highest you can get on trip advisor. Thanks again for everything. Z

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We hope you'll be back for many more pleasant and cozy stays in the future. Thanks so much for letting us hear about your experiences here. Your kind words about our team are especially appreciated. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCoy, VA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First of all, I should start saying that my husband and I have gone cross country, camping, motels and hotels. From all the places we've stayed this is by far the best. The facilities are great, staff do a great job to keep it neat, but the customer service its exceptional. From the front desk, to the kitchen manager, to the housekeeping people, to maintenance; everybody a great smile, great attitude. We had to stay there because our kitchen flooded and our insurance put us there for a month! It was an incredible experience. From the night we called for reservations and my husband told the front desk person why we were staying there, he offer a lower rate, matched us with the perfect room (with dishwasher, tall fridge and stove), to the chaotic mornings with a toddle and a baby staff helping me to our room with our food, holding doors open. What can I say... Somebody's done their homework here, definitely aced in every way. Ryan, Chris (manager), Brooke in Front Desk. Juan in the kitchen at breakfast. Juanita and Lisa from housekeeping and countless of others that my bad sleep deprived memory is forgetting. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Wow. Thank YOU. It's great to hear such feedback about our wonderful staff. We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and hope life is back to normal for you. Thanks for spending the month with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for about a month when we first came to Blacksburg. We stayed in a suite, on the fifth floor. Overall, this was a very good stay, with only a few minor problems.

All members of staff were very friendly and helpful - this was a definite plus point for this hotel. Our room was spacious, with a well-equipped kitchen area, including a fridge-freezer, a hob and a microwave oven. This kitchen/lounge area also had a large sofa and a small dining table & chairs. The bed was large and very comfortable. The breakfast, which was included in the rate, was fairly basic, but adequate - hot sausage & egg, waffles, fruit, yoghurt, pastries & bread. Juan, the breakfast chef, greeted everyone with a smile ...... and seemed to be there every day of our stay!

The hotel has an indoor swimming pool, which I used several times. It was clean and the water temperature was just right. The hotel also has a small gym, but I didn't use it. The hotel does not have its own restaurant, just a breakfast area in the lobby. The hotel across the road had a restaurant, but there were no other restaurants within a short walking distance. The Downtown area of Blacksburg is less than two miles away, and offers a number of different eating places.

The minor quibbles ..... the WiFi in our room was unreliable at times, so we would sometimes have to sit in the lobby, where the connection was fine. Our room didn't get made up everyday - but we stayed during some particularly bad weather, and I believe there may have been some staff shortages? Anyway, this wasn't a major problem for us. One thing that did become irritating was the other guests! During the week, the hotel seems to be "home" to a number of builders ..... and on the icy days (we had many in January!) they would turn on the engines of their big, noisy trucks - then go in for breakfast whilst their trucks de-iced! So, this was our early wake-up call most mornings! During the weekends, the builders were replaced by a large number of college students ...... so, on Saturday mornings, the breakfast area was just too busy and crowded to be comfortable ...... so, we just made other arrangements on Saturdays!

A long stay, and no major problems ..... I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some of the suites are more spacious - I don't know if there is a difference in price. Higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for spending such quality time with us! And thank you for your very thorough and constructive review. Your feedback is very valuable to us and -- I'm sure -- to our future guests, as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just returned from what looks to be our first of many visits to VT. The hotel was nice & clean but no surprises. What really set it apart from comparable hotels at this price point was the staff. Juan at breakfast, Juanita in housekeeping, but most of all Val at the front desk could not have been nicer. It is a great idea to have a VT student at the front desk. She spent a lot of time talking to us about the university and really went out of her way to help us. We will definitely be returning for orientation in July, move in August, etc!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to having you back this summer and throughout the years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip to look at Virginia Tech. The hotel is new and clean. They put me in a larger room because mine was not ready. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is very convenient to Tech and the visitor's center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. And I hope this was just the first of many visits to Virginia Tech and nights at the Comfort Suites. Thanks so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Address: 1020 Plantation Road, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Comfort Suites® University offers easy access to Virginia Tech and a host of local restaurants and shops in Downtown Blacksburg, VA. This Blacksburg, Virginia hotel also offers convenient access to US Route 460, making travel to Christiansburg, Radford and Dublin easy. Other nearby attractions include: Smithfield Plantation Museum of Geological Science First & Main Shopping Plaza New RiverGuests of the Comfort Suites University hotel are invited to relax in the indoor heated pool or work out in the fitness center. A variety of outdoor activities including badminton, basketball, tennis, biking, boating, fishing and golfing are also nearby. There is one meeting room, which can accommodate 45 people for banquets and 75 for conferences. Other amenities include: Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free daily newspaper Business CenterYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.All rooms are either suites or oversized – perfect for families and others needing a little space – and offer a large desk with USB docking station, a flat-screen television with cable, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper and kitchen facilities.This is a non-smoking hotel.Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Comfort Suites University a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Blacksburg, VA area. Book a room with us today, we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Hawthorn Suites
Comfort Suites University Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.