We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites University to your Saves list
Comfort Suites University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Plantation Road, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just returned from what looks to be our first of many visits to VT. The hotel was nice & clean but no surprises. What really set it apart from comparable hotels at this price point was the staff. Juan at breakfast, Juanita in housekeeping, but most of all Val at the front desk could not have been nicer. It is a great idea to have a VT student at the front desk. She spent a lot of time talking to us about the university and really went out of her way to help us. We will definitely be returning for orientation in July, move in August, etc!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to having you back this summer and throughout the years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    36
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
62
8
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip to look at Virginia Tech. The hotel is new and clean. They put me in a larger room because mine was not ready. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is very convenient to Tech and the visitor's center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. And I hope this was just the first of many visits to Virginia Tech and nights at the Comfort Suites. Thanks so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel last April (2012) when we went down to Blacksburg for Parent's Spring Weekend. I can't say enough good things about it. The room was clean, big and inviting. The breakfast was awesome and the help was terrific. I remember that I forgot my phone charger and asked the girl at the desk if she had an extra one by any chance. She searched hi and lo and found one that I used the whole time I was there. The guy in the breakfast area, Juan..couldn't have been more helpful. If you asked him for anything, he got it for you. We would stay here every single time that we go to Blacksburg, but find it a little more expensive than some of the other Choice Hotels that are a little further out...it is way above them as far as every other category though!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It's always a pleasure to hear such feedback about our wonderful staff. Thanks for sharing your experience with us and we do hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was travelling for a conference at VT and came across this hotel. We booked about a month ahead of time, and everything was great! The lobby/breakfast space is nicely decorated, and the room was great! It was much bigger than I was expecting and had all of the amenities that you would expect. But the best thing about this hotel was the customer service. We were greeted by a very friendly front desk person who answered all of our questions, and every morning we left the hotel someone told us to have a good day! The breakfast was good, standard inclusive hotel breakfast, which is perfect for me. Juan, the breakfast chef, was so attentive to both the food and the hotel guests. In addition to making sure all of the food and breakfast was continually stocked, he came around to every table every morning to say hello and make sure we had everything we needed. It was truly a wonderful experience. The only negative I have about this hotel is the size of the gym area, but it did have a treadmill which I used every day so overall I was happy.

Overall, I would 100% recommend this hotel, and I will be staying here again when I return for this meeting next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your stay. Your thoughtful feedback is of great value to us. We look forward to having you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverdam, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nice place but a bit noisy if you're near the pool. Couldn't find a hairdryer or safe but didn't bother to ask. The air condition is a bit noisy since it's right by the bed. Room had two chairs with footstools. Breakfast was good, standard hotel fare. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We hope you'll be back soon. For future reference, all of our guest rooms come equipped with hair dryers. They are located in the closet, placed in black velvet bags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is always a great stay! This was the first time we stayed in this hotel since it changed names (It went from Hawthorne Suites to Comfort Suites) and it got even better! They have coffee, hot chocolate, and sweet tea available all day for free in the lobby. The continental breakfast is great!!! Good amount of seating also. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. The lobby has some lounge furniture with a flat screen television (which was new since we last stayed there). The location is great. Right along 460 and very close to the VT Campus entrance. The rooms are designed very nice and overall a very clean hotel. It's a great stay for Blacksburg!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks for sticking with us! Your loyal business is very much appreciated. And so is your feedback, so thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Suites. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is very convenient to Virginia Tech, just across 460. The staff was very nice. The only issue I has was trying to talk to someone in housekeeping who spoke little or no English. The room was good size with a partial dividing wall between the sofa bed and the bedroom/bathroom area. There was a mini fridge and microwave in the room. The bathroom was small and a little outdated. The bed was comfortable with nice pillows. For some reason I did have a little bit of a lady bug problem. I had to get rid of 5 ladybugs in my 3 night stay. Other than that the room was very clean. And also pretty quiet.

The breakfast was eggs/sausage/muffins/cereal with decent size eating area. There was also an indoor pool which I did not go into.

Wireless was available and worked flawlessly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Well, I hope the ladybugs brought some good luck! They really should not have been in your room, though, so we apologize for the intrusion. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope you'll be back for another nice stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Address: 1020 Plantation Road, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Comfort Suites® University offers easy access to Virginia Tech and a host of local restaurants and shops in Downtown Blacksburg, VA. This Blacksburg, Virginia hotel also offers convenient access to US Route 460, making travel to Christiansburg, Radford and Dublin easy. Other nearby attractions include: Smithfield Plantation Museum of Geological Science First & Main Shopping Plaza New RiverGuests of the Comfort Suites University hotel are invited to relax in the indoor heated pool or work out in the fitness center. A variety of outdoor activities including badminton, basketball, tennis, biking, boating, fishing and golfing are also nearby. There is one meeting room, which can accommodate 45 people for banquets and 75 for conferences. Other amenities include: Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free daily newspaper Business CenterYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.All rooms are either suites or oversized – perfect for families and others needing a little space – and offer a large desk with USB docking station, a flat-screen television with cable, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper and kitchen facilities.This is a non-smoking hotel.Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Comfort Suites University a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Blacksburg, VA area. Book a room with us today, we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Hawthorn Suites
Comfort Suites University Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.