We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites University

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Suites University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Plantation Road, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a great, quiet place to stay when in Blacksburg. I woke up to the sounds of the country - cows! Room was very spacious, which was great as I was rooming with my teen who has a different "clock" than me. Breakfast was pretty normal for the free breakfasts that are offered by hotels these days. Staff very friendly. Overall -- very nice!

Room Tip: Ask to have a room that faces the farmland!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    33
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
53
6
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Room was spacious and clean. The hotel was full and saw tons of children but it was extremely quiet. Breakfast was great and staff was very friendly. Would stay here again if in town or passing by the area.

Room Tip: King suite was a perfect choice and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great hotel. Originally didn't think a Comfort Suites would be that great, but I was extremely impressed. It looks like a pretty new motel. When looking in Blacksburg for a hotel my priority was a clean, baby friendly and suite type place which would provide more room. We were looking for a suite b/c after the kids go to bed the adults could sit and talk in the room next door. This was a great place for all that we were looking for. The bed was comfortable, rooms were clean and modern, the complementary breakfast was a big plus. It included blueberry or original waffles with waffle irons, eggs, pancakes, biscuits, cereal, yogurt, coffee etc. I originally expected just cold cereal boxes and muffins and basics, but the hote meals were great.
This was a great place to stay and close by to University Mall, Macado's, Starbucks and VT campus and will come back again! The other options we were considering was the Alumni Center hotel and Main Street Inn (which would be the best option for being right on Main Street), Hilton Garden Inn...we picked this one b/c of price and value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is not a 5-star hotel, obviously, but it gets a 5-star rating from me because it is really outstanding for its class of hotel. The hotel has recently changed from a Hawthorn Suites to a Comfort Suites. I had stayed there seven years ago when it was a Hawthorn Suites and had enjoyed it. It actually is even better now.

The room was spacious and well-appointed. It had a nice sitting area and plenty of space. The hotel exterior and interior were immaculate and well-maintained. It also had a nice stylish feel to it. It is in a great location that feels isolated but is just minutes from the Virginia Tech campus and plenty of shopping and restaurants (Macado's anyone?). They are not within walking distance but are within a mile or two of the hotel.

The indoor pool area was very nice and clean, although the sign with the pool rules was quite humorous. Rule No. 3 was "No Swimming." :-) Pretty funny. The breakfast was typical of this type of hotel. Some hot food and plenty of pastries, breads, fruit, etc.

The staff were very nice and check-in and check-out was a breeze. This will be the place I stay every time I return to Blacksburg!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thanks for the tip about our pool sign. I'm glad you found some humor in it, but we've now replaced it with a less confusing set of rules. I suspect you've saved our guests a lot of head-scratching!
And we appreciate you taking the time to write such a thoughtful review -- it's great to have your feedback on our recent transformation. We look forward to having you back the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Blacksburg area. It is no longer a Hawthorn Suites though, so TripAdvisor might want to change that. It is now a COMFORT SUITES and has been beautifully renovated. The assistant general manager was just the sweetest young lady and had the cutest southern accent. The gentleman working when we checked in that evening was very helpful and very attentive to our needs. The staff couldn't get any better! The rooms were clean and the breakfast was exactly what we needed to get our busy day started!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pasture have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This place is now a Comfort Inn. Room was clean, noise level is high and walls are paper thin. Continental Breakfast is strictly average.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Has now been taken over by Comfort Suites...super clean, great location to VT. Stayed here for soccer tournament and had nothing but good to say.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University Hotel
Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University Hotel Blacksburg
Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg
Blacksburg Hawthorn Suites
Comfort Suites University Blacksburg, Virginia
Address: 1020 Plantation Road, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#7 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Comfort Suites® University offers easy access to Virginia Tech and a host of local restaurants and shops in Downtown Blacksburg, VA. This Blacksburg, Virginia hotel also offers convenient access to US Route 460, making travel to Christiansburg, Radford and Dublin easy. Other nearby attractions include: Smithfield Plantation Museum of Geological Science First & Main Shopping Plaza New RiverGuests of the Comfort Suites University hotel are invited to relax in the indoor heated pool or work out in the fitness center. A variety of outdoor activities including badminton, basketball, tennis, biking, boating, fishing and golfing are also nearby. There is one meeting room, which can accommodate 45 people for banquets and 75 for conferences. Other amenities include: Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free daily newspaper Business CenterYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.All rooms are either suites or oversized – perfect for families and others needing a little space – and offer a large desk with USB docking station, a flat-screen television with cable, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper and kitchen facilities.This is a non-smoking hotel.Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Comfort Suites University a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Blacksburg, VA area. Book a room with us today, we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.