We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites University to your Saves list
Comfort Suites University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Plantation Road, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I wouldn't stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Great hotel. Clean, spacious rooms. Great value. Breakfast was great although crowded. I must have gone downstairs when everybody else did. Quiet place, a mile from Starbucks and around the corner from Tech. I will stay here again when I return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    39
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
71
9
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We are a family of 5 with our youngest being 6 months old and this hotel was fabulous! We stayed here as a half way spot on our vacation. The indoor pool was warm enough for even the baby and we all loved it! We all fit comfortably in one king suite with the sofabed for the kids and there was room for the playpen too. The microwave and fridge made keeping and warming bottles very convenient. Hotel staff was friendly and accomodating. They even offered to match an internet price. Oh and go eat at Sal's pizza yum!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, VA
Level Contributor
221 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I started staying here when my daughter was looking at VT over 5 years ago. She will be graduating this year, and I've tried to get this hotel every time I visit. Unfortunately it isn't always available since it is so popular.
The breakfast is better than most, the rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly/helpful. It's nice to have the suite.
The hotel gets its fair share of sports teams traveling to play at VT, but I've never had a problem with noise.
You can't really walk to campus from here, but it is very close.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amawalk, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

I love the suite concept where you feel like you have an apt more than a motel/hotel room. The Hawthorn is a very comfortable and classy place without too high a price tag. Close to the VT campus (less than a mile away) and very comfortable bed, large screen TV, LR and kitchen. It really allows you to spread out and unwind. You won't get great deals close to key college dates (like football games, graduation day or move in days) but you can find deals like we did in early December at 40% off making it as reasonable as most motels. Always my 1st pick when staying in Blacksburg if I can afford it. Only drawback is no restaurant onsite but does have a good hot breakfast buffet (complimentary)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We booked this room at Hotels.com, which I will NEVER do again. They really are the worst. Our reservation was goofed up (they were having system trouble) so Samantha at the front desk called them to sort it out. Hotels.com asked to speak with me (I was already in the room). Hotels.com have apparently outsourced their customer service function to India, which I found frustrating because I was having trouble understanding her.

Anyway, Samantha ended up having to call on my behalf and hotels.com hung up on her twice! It was really frustrating. But she got it worked out for us.

As for the hotel, first the negatives: There is no bar or restaurant area. I'd like to repeat that: There is NO bar. After driving for 7 hours with my little kids I must admit...I needed a glass of wine like nobodies business. Next time I'll bring a bottle of wine or something. They do offer breakfast in the morning, which was nice. Also, I would have loved a hot tub or sauna in the pool area.

Now onto the positives: The staff was great! Samantha bent over backwards to make us feel welcomed and happy. She was so great that we tried to buy her a little gift while we were out (but the stores were closed).

The indoor pool: it was great to have a place where my kids could blow off some steam.

The breakfast bar: They have a thing where you can make your own waffles which the kids loved. They also had cereal, eggs and all of the normal "continental breakfast" standards. I thought that it was a nice variety and we enjoyed it.

The surroundings: The hotel is right down the street from Virginia Tech and is in a very beautiful, pastoral setting. From our room I watched two deer running around in the field next door. So sweet!!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will plan on staying there again when we come back for football games.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed 2 nights. The location was perfect, the room was clean and well cared for. BUT my teen age daughter's over-sized beach bag was stolen, with her clutch bag, New York State photo-id (photo, age and our address and $30.00+, and a couple of gift cards with a few dollars left on them. This canvas bag was a gift the week before; inside was her Ipod, case and charger. artist sketch pad and artist pencils, toiletries (including 2 Bath and Body works lip gloss @ $7.00 apiece), a $20.00 library book and a spare car key (approx value $420)!

From what management told us, according to their electronic key card system, except for housekeeping, we were the only ones to enter our room.
Management assured us they had NEVER had anything like this happen before and their staff were trustworthy. The housekeeper even approached us as we were leaving to say she never saw the bag in question. That is just not true.
Not taken was the camera battery re-charger that had been removed from the bag and plugged into the wall. We were in town for a family wedding and luckily my daughter kept her camera with her for the entire weekend.
According to management, the room floors do not have cameras but the lobby and front entrance do. Via a follow-up phone call I asked if they had checked our arrival to verify we had the bag---the woman said essentially, "oh we believe you had the bag, just that we are not responsible for it's loss."
We initially realized the bag was missing Sat at 3pm, as we got ready for the wedding. As we were rushing to get to the wedding, we could not fully search for the bag until we returned from wedding/reception at 11:30pm 8/7/10.
The desk clerk informed us this was the 3rd Ipod taken within the month and one kid also had $100.00 taken with his Ipod. And he profusely apologized for this breach of confidence.
Sunday morning the assistant manager assured us the night desk clerk was "mistaken and that it was unfortunate that we had been given incorrect information."
I did report this to the Blacksburg, VA police department and have a case number. It has been a week, the officer in charge is just returning from military duties. No word yet on his findings. A call today was not returned.

The assistant manager said she would be talking to her manager to see if we could be reimbursed for the lost items. A week later still no word. Phone calls unanswered.

I do need to say we were not charged for our 2 night stay. But that does not equal the cost of the bag and contents (approx. $420.00).
My husband and I are Wyndham Rewards members (this is a Wyndham property). Needless to say we will not be staying at that property or at a Hawthorn Suites or any Wyndham property unless this is satisfactorily resolved.

Virginia Tech will soon be in session and football season has all but begun. Hotel space will be at a premium. Please if you stay at this property, protect your belongings. Otherwise you may be highly disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Traveled with our swim team and hotel was perfect for large groups. Management was accommodating to our early morning schedule as well as late checkout needs. Rooms were clean and large enough for families with 4 children to rest comfortably. Breakfast was great

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Address: 1020 Plantation Road, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Comfort Suites® University offers easy access to Virginia Tech and a host of local restaurants and shops in Downtown Blacksburg, VA. This Blacksburg, Virginia hotel also offers convenient access to US Route 460, making travel to Christiansburg, Radford and Dublin easy. Other nearby attractions include: Smithfield Plantation Museum of Geological Science First & Main Shopping Plaza New RiverGuests of the Comfort Suites University hotel are invited to relax in the indoor heated pool or work out in the fitness center. A variety of outdoor activities including badminton, basketball, tennis, biking, boating, fishing and golfing are also nearby. There is one meeting room, which can accommodate 45 people for banquets and 75 for conferences. Other amenities include: Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free daily newspaper Business CenterYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.All rooms are either suites or oversized – perfect for families and others needing a little space – and offer a large desk with USB docking station, a flat-screen television with cable, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper and kitchen facilities.This is a non-smoking hotel.Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Comfort Suites University a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Blacksburg, VA area. Book a room with us today, we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Blacksburg University Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Hawthorn Suites
Comfort Suites University Blacksburg, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.