We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual but tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store

Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store
302 North Main Street, Downtown, Blacksburg, VA 24060
5409530651
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 106 restaurants in Blacksburg
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Cellar Restaurant and 6-Pak Beer Store is located in downtown Blacksburg Virginia directly across from Va Tech campus. We have been serving Greek and American food since 1963. Our signature dishes include homemade Meat Lasagne, Greek spaghetti, Moussaka, Tiropita, Spanakopita with tzatziki sauce, Pasta Aegean with shrimp, Spinach salad and Greek Salads, Mushroom and Shrimp Raviolis, 6144 different Calzone combinations and The Best Pizza south of Chicago. We also have an expanded Beer shop with over 300 different beers from all over the world.
Dugspur, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Casual but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were in Blacksburg for a live event at the Lyric Theater. The Cellar Restaurant was conveniently located for one stop parking. A great choice.
The place was crowded but our server found a table being vacated so no wait.
Service was very good even with the crowd. Food served promptly. No problem making the show.
A great selection of micro-brews. Full service bar.
Enjoyed the pasta dishes, well prepared and tasty.
Not exactly an older couples place but a night with the collegiate crowd was enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    23
    34
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Blacksburg's college-style gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our suspicion that The Cellar was a puffed up college convenience store with quickie snacks for harried Virginia Tech students was NOT borne out by the friendly generous service (Tyler) and highly competent food ... down to earth quality, no frills, but very comfortable. Red pepper crab bisque would pass as gourmet (if we cared) and the steaming mound of spiced shrimp was perfect. Kathy's Greek salad was first class ("best Greek salad dressing I can remember"). Ambiance familiar (walls cluttered with clever and/or attractive posters and art works), We're only in Blacksburg a few time a year, but now we have a place we can count on.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Good food, service lacks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I have both eaten at the Cellar during our college years and adult years for lunch and/or dinner. Service is always a bit slow, so be patient, but the pizza, subs, and salads are delicious (try their Greek Salad). They also have daily specials with interesting choices. Beer and wine prices are good too.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice beer selection, fresh tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stopped for lunch on the way thru town. Ample portion sizes. Fresh, simple food. Nice selection of beer and other drinks. Friendly staff. Relatively crowded seating; was busy even though we were outside typical lunch hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Drinks and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have been to Cellar Restaurant twice in my most recent visits to VT, and both times it was very good.

There is a massive beer selection and the bartenders are great with asking what types of beer you actually like, instead of just offering something they like.

The food selection is great, from sandwiches, to pizza, and entrees. I had the french dip and a steak and cheese on my visits, both were good. Definitely trying the pizza next time!

Looking forward to going back again in January.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store also viewed

 

Been to Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.