We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed venue....beer, music or food?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store

Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store
302 North Main Street, Downtown, Blacksburg, VA 24060
5409530651
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 106 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Cellar Restaurant and 6-Pak Beer Store is located in downtown Blacksburg Virginia directly across from Va Tech campus. We have been serving Greek and American food since 1963. Our signature dishes include homemade Meat Lasagne, Greek spaghetti, Moussaka, Tiropita, Spanakopita with tzatziki sauce, Pasta Aegean with shrimp, Spinach salad and Greek Salads, Mushroom and Shrimp Raviolis, 6144 different Calzone combinations and The Best Pizza south of Chicago. We also have an expanded Beer shop with over 300 different beers from all over the world.
Stephens City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A mixed venue....beer, music or food?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Some of the food is awesome, some is so-so. Hard to pick the best items....but old favorites are very good. Music (including an open mic) makes the food and huge beer selection taste much better. A great place for lunch or light bites....have never eaten downstairs, just always outside or in the bar. Wish they would bring back mussels.
If you are looking for a beer you've never had...this is the place to find it and drink it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    39
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Laid back bar/pub scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice place to go for some drinks and food if you're trying to avoid the hustle and bustle of Sharkey's or TOTS. Prices are reasonable and food is good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

They have awesome gluten-free pizza here. I look forward to going when I am in Blacksburg just for the pizza. Everyone else's food is really good as well. Hand-tossed pizza, huge calzones and hoagies. Italian and Greek choices. Always lots of people so you know the food is good and worth the price. It's got a bar atmosphere with a few TVs, and seating out front. It's right across the street from one of the main campus entrances. Parking is a bit hard to get to, but decent sized in the rear lot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merry Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I guess if you're a college student meeting up with friends this would be a great place to chat it up while eating/drinking. As a visitor ordering dinner, it can be a bit daunting.... The restaurant is part of a strip of store-fronts with very minimal parking out front. Most customers would probably need to go around and park behind the restaurant. There is outdoor seating before you enter the restaurant. Once inside you are smack in the middle of seating and it's every man for himself. Once you find a table it may need to be cleared, but the first thing is to claim your spot. A bar with stools and beer menu on the wall is located in the back. There is also one small room on the side that can be reserved for larger parties. Since tables are over-sized and close together it really is a challenge to feel comfortably seated here. Again, maybe it's just me since I'm not part of the crowd... The wait staff is very busy and it does take awhile to get menus, drinks and orders. This is not the place to go to if you are in a hurry to be served. However, with a surf'n turf special including a salad, 6oz. steak, half dozen skewered grilled, shrimp, potatoes, side veg. and garlic bread ---- All for $13, then I can wait a bit. The meal is not gourmet/fancy. It's just your basic steak and shrimp grilled with minimal seasoning and no sauces. It was okay. Nothing special, but definitely filling. We didn't order dessert/ try the beer, but they do have quite a selection of beers to choose from. I guess about half the crowd at the time we were there did have beers/cocktails. One last note: Be careful when leaving not to fall down the front stairs...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“My favorite spot in Blacksburg!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I love The Cellar's food. You can't go wrong with their pita pizzas. The cucumber dip and pita is an excellent app, too. I really like the atmosphere, but things can get very crowded upstairs if it is a special weekend in bburg. The outside seating is a nice option, too.
The service can be wishy washy from time to time. Some days you are in and out like a fast food restaurant, however other days you better have more time than just a lunch hour. It seems they have staffing issues, but I guess that would be expected in a college town.
Overall, I love this place. This will be my first destination after defending my thesis this winter!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store also viewed

 

Been to Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.