We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long time tradition” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carol Lee Donuts

Carol Lee Donuts
1414 North Main Street, Blacksburg, VA 24060
5405526706
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 106 restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Donuts
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Carol Lee Donuts is a retail take-out doughnut shop. Seating is limited to outdoor seating during the summer only.Coffee,cappuccino,milk,and tea are available inside. Soda, water and juice are in a vending machine outside.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Long time tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our family has patronized Carol Lee Doughnuts for over 30 years. They baked our daughter's wedding cake.

Too bad they are on the other side of town from us, otherwise we'd spend more time there (and wear larger clothes).

Doughnuts are always fresh. Nice variety. We like to purchase a bagful and eat them outside on the picnic table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    37
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Locals rave about their donuts, so we had to try some on our visit to town. Donuts are very light but definitely have a stale oil flavor--hard to describe--a bit mechanical, not pleasant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Donuts to Go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I decided to order a box of a half-dozen to get a good variety. I picked the Blueberry Cake, Toasted Coconut, Devil's Food Chocolate Iced, Chocolate Iced with Peanuts, Cinnamon Sugar, & Bavarian Creme filled for my six doughnuts. They are $.70 each individually and I believe it was just under $4.00 for a half-dozen.

After now having tried all six flavors, the Blueberry Cake & Toasted Coconut are my two favorites. There's nothing fancy about the blueberry cake, but this cake doughnut is extremely light and the berries tasted stronger than usual in most other blueberry doughnuts I've tried.

For a contrast, the Toasted Coconut was a glazed yeast doughnut but topped with shavings of toasted coconut. The coconut gives a unique texture and a sweet nutty flavor that works well with the yeast doughnut. I'm not a coffee drinker but this seemed like a doughnut that would pair perfectly with a cup of coffee.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant, but great donuts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Simple, no frills donut shop. What I imagine they used to be like before I was around. Anyways, I always come here on trips to blacksburg to get a dozen for $6. Love the chocolate frosted with crushed peanuts on top!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The best "restaurant" in Blacksburg is a donut shop? Yes, their donuts are great, but, really, this is not a restaurant, it's a donut shop in an old gas station. We do have restaurants here. This is wrong.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carol Lee Donuts also viewed

 
Blacksburg, VA
Blacksburg, VA
 
Blacksburg, VA

Been to Carol Lee Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carol Lee Donuts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.