We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donuts to Go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carol Lee Donuts

Carol Lee Donuts
1414 North Main Street, Blacksburg, VA 24060
5405526706
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 107 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Donuts
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Carol Lee Donuts is a retail take-out doughnut shop. Seating is limited to outdoor seating during the summer only.Coffee,cappuccino,milk,and tea are available inside. Soda, water and juice are in a vending machine outside.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Donuts to Go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I decided to order a box of a half-dozen to get a good variety. I picked the Blueberry Cake, Toasted Coconut, Devil's Food Chocolate Iced, Chocolate Iced with Peanuts, Cinnamon Sugar, & Bavarian Creme filled for my six doughnuts. They are $.70 each individually and I believe it was just under $4.00 for a half-dozen.

After now having tried all six flavors, the Blueberry Cake & Toasted Coconut are my two favorites. There's nothing fancy about the blueberry cake, but this cake doughnut is extremely light and the berries tasted stronger than usual in most other blueberry doughnuts I've tried.

For a contrast, the Toasted Coconut was a glazed yeast doughnut but topped with shavings of toasted coconut. The coconut gives a unique texture and a sweet nutty flavor that works well with the yeast doughnut. I'm not a coffee drinker but this seemed like a doughnut that would pair perfectly with a cup of coffee.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant, but great donuts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Simple, no frills donut shop. What I imagine they used to be like before I was around. Anyways, I always come here on trips to blacksburg to get a dozen for $6. Love the chocolate frosted with crushed peanuts on top!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Really?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The best "restaurant" in Blacksburg is a donut shop? Yes, their donuts are great, but, really, this is not a restaurant, it's a donut shop in an old gas station. We do have restaurants here. This is wrong.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Best Donuts in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

No other doughnut comes close to Carol Lee Donuts! They are like potato chips - you can't eat just one. My favorites are plain glazed, maple glazed, blueberry cake, apple filled and cinnamon twist. When my family or I are in town this is a must and at least one dozen will appear on the kitchen table. I have taken friends, from out of town, to introduce them to a much beloved Blacksburg business and to the best donuts anywhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A special treat when we are in Blacksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

A visit to Carol Lee Donuts is a must for us when we are in Blacksburg. They have a huge selection and a few flavors that are hard to find in chain donut shops. My 3 year old always looks forward to her donut with sprinkles when we make the trip to Virginia.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carol Lee Donuts also viewed

 

Been to Carol Lee Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carol Lee Donuts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.