We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a restaurant, but great donuts”
Review of Carol Lee Donuts

1414 North Main Street, Blacksburg, VA 24060
5405526706
Update restaurant details
Ranked #7 of 103 restaurants in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: Donuts
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Carol Lee Donuts is a retail take-out doughnut shop. Seating is limited to outdoor seating during the summer only.Coffee,cappuccino,milk,and tea are available inside. Soda, water and juice are in a vending machine outside.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Carol Lee Donuts is a retail take-out doughnut shop. Seating is limited to outdoor seating during the summer only.Coffee,cappuccino,milk,and tea are available inside. Soda, water and juice are in a vending machine outside.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    31
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Carol Lee Donuts
See the most recent reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant, but great donuts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Simple, no frills donut shop. What I imagine they used to be like before I was around. Anyways, I always come here on trips to blacksburg to get a dozen for $6. Love the chocolate frosted with crushed peanuts on top!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Really?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The best "restaurant" in Blacksburg is a donut shop? Yes, their donuts are great, but, really, this is not a restaurant, it's a donut shop in an old gas station. We do have restaurants here. This is wrong.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Best Donuts in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

No other doughnut comes close to Carol Lee Donuts! They are like potato chips - you can't eat just one. My favorites are plain glazed, maple glazed, blueberry cake, apple filled and cinnamon twist. When my family or I are in town this is a must and at least one dozen will appear on the kitchen table. I have taken friends, from out of town, to introduce them to a much beloved Blacksburg business and to the best donuts anywhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A special treat when we are in Blacksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

A visit to Carol Lee Donuts is a must for us when we are in Blacksburg. They have a huge selection and a few flavors that are hard to find in chain donut shops. My 3 year old always looks forward to her donut with sprinkles when we make the trip to Virginia.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I won't know why locals love this place. Their selection is very limited and the donuts lack flavor. If you, like me, like to have more than the average cake donut, you won't like it. They don't have any buttermilk-based donuts, no apple fritters, no old-fashioned, no streusel-topped donuts, just plain old cake donuts.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carol Lee Donuts also viewed

 

Been to Carol Lee Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carol Lee Donuts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.