We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Grill

Mike's Grill
418 Main Street, Blacksburg, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 106 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: American
Description: Great Burger and Pizza Joint - favorite spot of VT college students and alumni.
Restaurant details
Description: Great Burger and Pizza Joint - favorite spot of VT college students and alumni.
Blacksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just the best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Mike used to say that he made one thing and he made it really well. If you want a simply fabulous cheeseburger, Mike's Grill is where you go when you are in Blacksburg, Virginia. It is never disappointing. The french fries are good, too, but best eaten hot. At Mike's, you can actually get a few more things other than a great burger. They have pizza and calzones and greek salad, for example, but the burgers are so good, we never really order anything else. The decor does leave a little bit to be desired. It's like an old sweatshirt...kinda tattered and comfy, but, man....those burgers! So good!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mike's Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Absolutely the best burgers in town! This is a Blacksburg icon! Don't be deceived by the lackluster interior because the burgers were so good. Don't come here for decorating tips as this is "old School" (literally) and not much has changed in terms of the interior over all their years in business. However, as I said before this is the place to go if you want to fill up on a massive burger and excellent fries.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Va.
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“decent hamburger”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Met a friend here today for lunch. We both ordered Hamburgers with fries so that's all I can review. The Hamburger was good but nothing extraordinary. It was dripping all over the place which some people really like. I think it just makes for a soggy bun. The fries were average. The staff was friendly. You don't get silverware unless you request and only one napkin with a messy burger. We did get more when we requested them. We're in the south and they serve Lipton tea from a machine. Really? The prices were good for what we received. Some people talk about how big the burgers were but to me a 1/2 lb burger is not all that big.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best burgers and pizza in the NRV!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Mike's is family friendly, university perfect!!! Awesome menu, family run business!!! Mouthwatering food!!! Reasonable prices! I have been dining here for decades!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SO Disappointed!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spent several nights in Blacksburg for 2013 Virginia Tech student move-in. Having heard great things about Mike's, we decided to check them out. Our orders were taken promptly, and our drinks quickly. Our food, however, took nearly one and one half hours to arrive! Virtually all of the customers seated around us also experienced the same ridiculously long wait.
Had our server informed us that 3 of their 5 cooks had not shown up for work, we would have chosen another dinner venue. Shame on Mike's management such incredibly poor service!!! We will not be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mike's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.