We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Burgers, Slow Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Grill

Mike's Grill
418 Main Street, Blacksburg, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 109 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: American
Description: Great Burger and Pizza Joint - favorite spot of VT college students and alumni.
Restaurant details
Description: Great Burger and Pizza Joint - favorite spot of VT college students and alumni.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Burgers, Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was in Blacksburg with my family and we stopped at Mikes for dinner. The highlight of the meal was definitely the burgers - they were huge and tasted great. The interior of the restaurant could use an update - it looks about the same as it did in 1986 when I last visited Mike's. Even though they were not very busy we while we were there, the service was slow and not overly friendly. I had to stand by the cash register for at least 5 minutes and was passed, but not acknowledged by several employees before someone would take my money for the check.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Mike's Grill is just one of those go-to places in Blacksburg. Everyone raves about the burgers. Personally I love their calzones. They are huge and the bread is definitely made fresh. Best of all, the price can't be beat on anything there. When it comes to the scenery, this place is straight out of the '70s and '80s. I love going to Mike's and it is just one of those places you need to try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I went here on a recommendation from a VT alum. She said to not be deceived by the lackluster interior because the burgers were so good. The interior was pretty lackluster though. There is a difference between old-style/retro/nostalgic and tired. This place was tired. Hulking old TVs, dim lights, and old tables and booths were the highlight here. The menu is very small--pretty much a hamburger or bust it seems.

I ordered a burger, and it took quite awhile to come out. When it did, it was very good, albeit gargantuan. I actually managed to finish the entire thing. The burger was juicy and served on an upside down bun which was an interesting look. Service was fine--really nothing to write home about. The cashier somehow got overwhelmed with 2 customers in line--she seemed thoroughly confused.

Overall, the place needs a facelift. The burgers are quite good, but the atmosphere needs some serious help.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great restaurant .....!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very good food and service... very clean and centrally located. We ate here on Easter weekend and loved it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hamburger a huge disappointment - absolutely do not recommend.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Mikes Grill advertises...
100% chuck that is ground fresh daily on site, we offer signature hamburgers that folks talk about throughout the Blacksburg community
Both my traveling companion and I beg to differ.
We went to Mikes expecting to have a great burger and when we received or burger it appeared to be a large processed burger and was only average in taste - a long way from being a fresh quality hamburger.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mike's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.