We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Burgers, Slow Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Grill

Mike's Grill
418 Main Street, Blacksburg, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 111 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Great Burger and Pizza Joint - favorite spot of VT college students and alumni.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Burgers, Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was in Blacksburg with my family and we stopped at Mikes for dinner. The highlight of the meal was definitely the burgers - they were huge and tasted great. The interior of the restaurant could use an update - it looks about the same as it did in 1986 when I last visited Mike's. Even though they were not very busy we while we were there, the service was slow and not overly friendly. I had to stand by the cash register for at least 5 minutes and was passed, but not acknowledged by several employees before someone would take my money for the check.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I went here on a recommendation from a VT alum. She said to not be deceived by the lackluster interior because the burgers were so good. The interior was pretty lackluster though. There is a difference between old-style/retro/nostalgic and tired. This place was tired. Hulking old TVs, dim lights, and old tables and booths were the highlight here. The menu is very small--pretty much a hamburger or bust it seems.

I ordered a burger, and it took quite awhile to come out. When it did, it was very good, albeit gargantuan. I actually managed to finish the entire thing. The burger was juicy and served on an upside down bun which was an interesting look. Service was fine--really nothing to write home about. The cashier somehow got overwhelmed with 2 customers in line--she seemed thoroughly confused.

Overall, the place needs a facelift. The burgers are quite good, but the atmosphere needs some serious help.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great restaurant .....!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very good food and service... very clean and centrally located. We ate here on Easter weekend and loved it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hamburger a huge disappointment - absolutely do not recommend.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Mikes Grill advertises...
100% chuck that is ground fresh daily on site, we offer signature hamburgers that folks talk about throughout the Blacksburg community
Both my traveling companion and I beg to differ.
We went to Mikes expecting to have a great burger and when we received or burger it appeared to be a large processed burger and was only average in taste - a long way from being a fresh quality hamburger.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have been going to Mike's since I was a baby, and my favorite thing about it is that the menu or feel of the restaurant hasn't changed. It has not gone down hill and continues to provide great food and service in a relaxed atmosphere. Their burgers are my particular favorite, and I always share a large fry with whoever I'm with. I was recently in Blacksburg after years of being gone and was pleased to find that Mike's was as good as ever.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mike's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.