We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant .....!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Grill

Mike's Grill
418 Main Street, Blacksburg, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 106 restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: American
Description: Great Burger and Pizza Joint - favorite spot of VT college students and alumni.
Restaurant details
Description: Great Burger and Pizza Joint - favorite spot of VT college students and alumni.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great restaurant .....!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very good food and service... very clean and centrally located. We ate here on Easter weekend and loved it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    18
    17
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hamburger a huge disappointment - absolutely do not recommend.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Mikes Grill advertises...
100% chuck that is ground fresh daily on site, we offer signature hamburgers that folks talk about throughout the Blacksburg community
Both my traveling companion and I beg to differ.
We went to Mikes expecting to have a great burger and when we received or burger it appeared to be a large processed burger and was only average in taste - a long way from being a fresh quality hamburger.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always a Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have been going to Mike's since I was a baby, and my favorite thing about it is that the menu or feel of the restaurant hasn't changed. It has not gone down hill and continues to provide great food and service in a relaxed atmosphere. Their burgers are my particular favorite, and I always share a large fry with whoever I'm with. I was recently in Blacksburg after years of being gone and was pleased to find that Mike's was as good as ever.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Still a favorite 25 years later!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had the opportunity to go back to my alma mater, Va Tech, recently for a football game. The first restaurant I ate in when I arrived on campus in Fall 1986 was Mike's Grill. The burgers were great and the prices were very reasonable for a college student. And now 26 years later, the prices are still great and the burgers are still a treat. Nothing fancy - just a good quality of meat, a nice portion and good service. Enjoyed the fries as well. Ate dinner for less than $8 including tip.

There's nothing fancy about this place but it's a great spot for spending some time with friends or family. You seat yourself as a table becomes available and you go to the cash register to pay. Service is good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Mike's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Know the original owner, now ran by the son. The absolute best burgers!! The fries are, also very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Grill also viewed

Been to Mike's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.