We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Plantation Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save Big
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have stayed at this Hilton Garden Inn for the last five years on business. The all-around service has always been very good, particularly at the bar, where I always eat dinner. On my visit this week, in particular, the food was excellent! It was the best meal I've had at any Hilton Garden Inn. Thank you to Ryan, the chef!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    86
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
117
40
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haymarket, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Ok...so maybe it was an off week or something -- but we just returned from a Blacksburg college visit weekend and had hoped for the same great experience we had had had at the HGI in the past. Unfortunately, that was not the case. Young women at the front desk seemed to be annoyed to be there and were less than friendly. We had requested a specific type of room on our reservation and was told it was not available and then the front desk staff said, "hope that's ok." I replied, that no, actually it was not ok, but at 10pm there were limited options. She had nothing further to say and quickly finished our transaction and we were on our way to the room. We soon noticed that our breakfast pass had not been included so I returned to the front desk and asked for it. Yet another less than happy staff person said, "well do you want it or do you want trip points?" I replied that our family preferred to eat in the morning, thanks anyway. Again, annoyed with the work to look up our room and fill out our form I was begrudgingly given the pass. Once in the room most everything was ok except for the temperature control....too hot, and it kept cutting off throughout the night. Just as it would cool off, it would turn off and not cut back on again until it was quite stuffy and unpleasant, resulting in a very non-restful night. Breakfast in the morning was very good, hot and a refreshing reprieve from the night before and the waitstaff were quite good and very polite. Given other options I will not go out of my way to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask about temperature control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIbburg, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay and level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with level of courtesy you received from our front staff have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area.

Thank you,
Jeremy Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

What was good about the Hilton Garden Inn, Blacksburg:

Clean.
Modern- 3 years old.
Refrigerator in the room.
Nice sized room.
The staff was excellent, friendly, accommodating.
Close to the Hokie Campus.
The restaurant serves a great burger.
Coffee and tea available all day long.
We especially enjoyed sitting in the area off to one side of the lobby. Just like sitting in our living room at home. Fireplace, couch, and large wall mounted flat screen. All the comforts of home.
Cookies at the front desk.


What wasn't great about the Hilton:

One of our 2 Queen beds was monumentally hard and uncomfortable My son slept on the other bed and he didn't have a complaint.
The Breakfast at the Hilton costs $9 each for a rather well cooked and tasty, variety filled breakfast. Additionally, fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts. Contrast this to the IHOP in Cristiansburg and the Hilton breakfast wins hands down. (The IHOP was terrible- flies and slow service.)
Adequate indoor pool and fitness center with a really soothing whirlpool spa. Much needed after a nights sleep on the queen bed in our room.
No fresh milk available for the coffee and tea in the lobby area during the day.

In all fairness this is a nice property. The desk manager did comp me when I mentioned to him that the bed was hard and didn't adjust. I wasn't looking for a comp but he volunteered after I mentioned that the bed was uncomfortable and that both my wife and I had back troubles from sleeping on it.
I will be waiting to see if he is good to his word when I see a credit for the 1 nights stay of the two we were there.

Overall quite an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

many people have discovered the HGI Blacksburg as a first rate place to stay when visiting Virginia Tech or the New River Valley. Front desk staff are very friendly, helpful and courteous. Bright, airy lobby. Clean rooms. We've stayed at a number of places in the Blacksburg / Christiansburg area over the years and this is by far our favorite.

Room Tip: The king bed rooms have a step-in shower instead of a tub/shower combo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is about the 5th time we stay at this hotel. Really like it. Clean, nice staff and rooms are spacious. Son goes to VT and this is his third year. We have stayed at other hotels in Christiansburg and Radford. None of those were any close to the niceness that this hotel is. It is new, scent is nice, clean feel, large rooms, nice beds (actually, very comfy), good breakfast. The only problem I have is the price increases during school events. To me, that is a little cheesy. BUT, in the reality of life, that is how they make their money.

Room Tip: In the area, there are many hotels. The quality of this hotel is worth the extra money, just becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, GA
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Cookie cutter HGI that has all the standard stuff. Good Staff, Clean, No Surprises and that is what I pay for. This is another HGI that has ONLY cooked to order hot food. You can't grab your food in a hurry. Waitress takes your order and brings it to you. (I don't like this set up)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

RECOMMENDED: This is likely one of the newest properties in Blacksburg in otherwise sparse pickings. Everything is close in this tiny university town and alternative hotels are in nearby Christianburg (though atmosphere is more "country"). Remember during school events, prices go up and it's tough to make a reservation.

This property is just off the main highway and a few minutes drive to the Vtech campus and "downtown". It's a standard issue Garden Inn which is good. Rooms are large and bedding is very comfortable (I'll admit I purchased the mattress for my own home). Nice desk area and decent free wired Internet.

If there is any recommendation to Hilton designers - the rooms lack adequate lighting so it's always a bit dim and the worse offense, cost savings on the windows - they don't open which is a real shame for allowing some fresh air in. Finally, the 5 story complex is of wood construction, meaning if you have some heifer on the floor above, you'll hear them moving about.

I drove by both the Courtyard and Holiday Inn and would deem them acceptable from a cursory view, however, this Hilton is likely your BEST choice.

There is a small but adequate gym on the ground floor, the indoor pool is unfortunately too small to be of any merit. A long quiet country road next to the hotel provides a nice walk/run area to enjoy the nearby mountains.

Overall, certainly would return to this property and this is a good choice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg

Address: 900 Plantation Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#1 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the comforts of home while on the road at the Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg. Complete with refrigerator, microwave, high-speed internet and HDTV, your spacious guest room contains all the essentials for an overnight visit or week-long stay. Adjacent to the VA Tech campus, this hotel is a convenient stop for parents and potential students alike. Forget something at home? The 24-hour Pavilion Pantry has basic health and beauty essentials as well as microwavable meals, snacks and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.