We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel - accomodating and something for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Plantation Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel - accomodating and something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for the second time when my family with teen-agers traveled to a state swim meet in the area. The hotel was accomodating to a huge group of swim families, including opening up the awesome breakfast early and having their restaurant prepare a last minute request for a pasta dinner for 30 swimmers. The rooms were comfortable, very clean and exceptionally quiet despite having a full hotel. There is a small friendly bar in the lobby, an indoor pool and jacuzzi and one of the largest fitness rooms I've ever seen at a hotel. Staff was friendly and very professional. Definitely recommend this hotel to all types of travellers and we plan on staying there for future swim meets!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    77
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
100
35
17
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I love staying at most Hilton Garden Inn. This one was good as well. The service was VERY GOOD. The breakfast was great! The location was ideal!!!! The rooms were clean however, the noise level was unacceptable! When my friend checked out the reviews, someone wrote that the hotel had a noise problem and they recommend getting a room on the top floor. OMG!!!! I should have listen to her! We stayed on the 2nd floor and we could hear every foot step that the people made staying above us!!!!! Not only that, when someone would use the card key to get into their room, it sounds like they were entering our room as well???? I am not sure that I could recommend this hotel. Yes, if you get a room on the top floor????

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I've stayed at dozens of HGI's and Hamptons. This hotel was very well run from the cleanliness of the rooms, comfort of the bed, strong wifi, nice fitness facility and pool. However, there was one glaring omission from the service I've come to expect from Hilton properties. The breakfast offering was pathetic. It was as if everyone called out and they were trying to throw something out there. Normally there is a spread of dry cereals. Today there were two boxes. Normally there is a nice spread of yogurts and freshly cut fruit over ice. Today there were a few plain yogurts on the metal trays with no ice and no fruit. The "waiter" was also the server. I witnessed a number of people ask him if they are open and he just ignored them. A few minutes later he would ask what they wanted.

I assume that the breakfast spread was an unusual mistake. Everything else was terrific.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Super duper Hotel.

Great staff. Great food. Great time.

Comfy dial a bed sleep control.

I felt like I was at my home away from home.

Muy Excellente!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Great room. Clean. Helpful professional staff. Comfy.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last couple of months. Overall, I am pleased and would stay here again. While the location is a bit off the beaten path, the property is new and the rates are reasonable.

First, my two main complaints, ... once I booked a rate that included breakfast in the restaurant in the lobby. They were seriously under-staffed and it took a while for our food to arrive, not to mention the tables still had dirty dishes on them. Perhaps it was a combination of a couple of conferences going on, as well as the start of New Cadet Week at Virginia Tech (VT). Nevertheless, a good manager should be aware of these events and staff accordingly. My second complaint is that the construction between floors is a bit thin. You can hear your neighbors walking above you. If this is going to really bother you, ... ask for the top floor. On the other hand, the construction between rooms seems pretty good.

I like the fact that this is a new property, so the furnishings are fresh. It's not really walking distance to the VT campus or Blacksburg Main Street, but parking is generally not a problem in town, so it's only a short drive. On the plus side- since it's a chain hotel you will earn your loyalty points (Hilton Honors).

The rooms are good sized, and there is free wi-fi, a microwave and refrigerator in each room. The room had great climate control (thermal comfort is one of my pet peeves). So this is a huge plus for the hotel. Heads up- the hotel laundromat is very small. There are only a couple/few washers and dryers, so get there early.

Since our son is attending VT we will be coming down often to visit over the next four years. Consequently, I will probably be like Goldilocks, ... looking for that bed that is just right. However, I would stay here again. Go Hokies !!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

While I was staying here I had a stack of 12 DVDs. I left and came back and I only had 10. I went downstairs to complain, didn't accuse anyone just said "someone" and even the clerk that night filled in the blanks and said the maids probably nabbed it. I was told to come back at 7am because the house keeping was gone for the night. So I set my alarm, go down at 7, wait for almost 20 min before I am helped and told that the maids will be talked to and that I will receive a phone call at 7:30am by the latest. 8:00 comes and goes and still no phone call. I go back downstairs, wait another 15 min before the manager takes me to the back and informs me with "100 % certainty" no one on his staff stole my DVDs. He was completely patronizing, totally unconcerned, and over all just a huge jerk about it. I asked how he was 100% certain, when he was not in the room while she was cleaning and he got annoyed, could not answer me, and eventually asked me to leave. I'm incredibly disappointed. Its not the DVDs or the $40 value that ticks me off, its the blatant and obvious theft, followed by the lack of concern by the supervisor. Never again will I stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg

Address: 900 Plantation Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the comforts of home while on the road at the Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg. Complete with refrigerator, microwave, high-speed internet and HDTV, your spacious guest room contains all the essentials for an overnight visit or week-long stay. Adjacent to the VA Tech campus, this hotel is a convenient stop for parents and potential students alike. Forget something at home? The 24-hour Pavilion Pantry has basic health and beauty essentials as well as microwavable meals, snacks and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.