We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of India Garden

India Garden
210 Prices Fork Road, NW, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 951 5100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 106 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Came in here randomly and was more than pleasantly surprised. Plentiful portions; felt bad leaving the left overs. Had the chicken tiki Marsala and chicken curry. Both were very good. Service wasn't always prompt, but the atmosphere was still nice. Will definitely be back if we pass through town again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Much Improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I love Indian food. I make it at home, and my husband and I look for good Indian restaurants wherever we travel. We were unhappy that the Indian restaurant in our town wasn't very good. A few weeks ago we tried it again, and the food was very much improved. I didn't write a review because I wasn't sure if this was the norm, or just a good day for the chef. My sister and I went there last night and were very happy with both the food and the service. The only negative was the appetizer platter. It did not taste fresh, and the fried items were over fried.
Now, with that said, lets get to all the positives. We ordered two entrees, the lamb methi masala, and the vegetable korma. We also ordered naan, one plain, and one garlic. We ordered both entrees medium hot. The bread was delicious. It was hot and soft, with a light crunch on the outside. The lamb was done perfectly, with lots of spicy gravy. I loved the subtle fenugreek flavor. Medium hot was just right for us, we like to feel the heat, but not have it set our mouths on fire. The korma was also, good. It tasted so rich that we felt decadent eating it. With the appetizer and the two entrees, we couldn't eat it all. We had to ask for boxes, so we can enjoy it for lunch today.
The service was impeccable. We like to sip our wine, order our starter, then think about the entree. At some of the local restaurants, the servers hurry you, or forget to come back at all. At the India Garden the servers were there when needed, gracious, never pushy, and made us feel that we were welcome for as long as we wanted to stay.
I would recommend that all of you who have not tried India Garden in a while, to go and give it another shot. I think you will be pleased.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowville, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We love the buffet at lunchtime and make a trip to B-burg to attend a number of times per year. It's a little on the dull side from a spicy aspect, but good none-the less...and definitely a good value.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were visiting family, and craving Indian, so google here we come. Well we found this "hidden gem" just outside of downtown and across the street from VT. It is hidden in a small shopping center just outside of the "round-a-bout". The food was excellent. Service was par, and the price was acceptable. We will be returning here when we visit Blacksburg.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you love Indian food, you will truly appreciate India Garden. Dishes are fresh, can be spicy or mild according to your order, and there is a wonderful variety of vegetarian, lamb, or chicken dishes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Garden also viewed

 
Blacksburg, VA
 

Been to India Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage India Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.